How soon could Liverpool win the Premier League this season?

Jurgen Klopp Liverpool 2019-20

After making the best-ever start to a season by a club in Europe’s top five leagues in 2019-20, Liverpool were on a relentless march towards the Premier League title.

But Jurgen Klopp's side were struck a cruel blow by the coronavirus pandemic in early 2020, with real concerns that the Premier League could be cancelled early.

Luckily for the Reds and their supporters, who are hoping to end decades of disappointment, the Premier League restarted in June after three months of no games, meaning the fight continues for silverware.

Article continues below

But when can Liverpool actually win the league? Goal takes a look.


  1. When can Liverpool win the Premier League?
  2. What are Liverpool's remaining fixtures?
  3. Who is the fastest side to win the Premier League title?

When can Liverpool win the Premier League?

Liverpool can potentially win the Premier League on June 25, if Man City fail to win against Chelsea.

If City beat Chelsea, then Liverpool's next chance to win the Premier League comes on July 2 and they can do so by securing a point against Man City at the Etihad.

Return to top

What are Liverpool's remaining fixtures?

July 2Manchester City vs Liverpool
July 5Liverpool vs Aston Villa
July 8Brighton vs Liverpool
July 11Liverpool vs Burnley
July 15Arsenal vs Liverpool
July 18Liverpool vs Chelsea
July 26Newcastle United vs Liverpool

Return to top

Who is the fastest side to win the Premier League title?

Manchester United hold the record for the fastest team to win the Premier League. They won the 2000-01 Premier League title on April 14, 2001 with five games left to play.

SeasonTeamDate of Title WinGames Left
2000-01Manchester UnitedApril 14, 20015
2017-18Manchester CityApril 15, 20185
1999-00Manchester UnitedApril 22, 20004
2003-04ArsenalApril 25, 20044
2012-13Manchester UnitedApril 22, 20134

Pep Guardiola's 'Centurion' squad won the 2017-18 Premier League title with five games left to spare as well. They missed the opportunity to surpass the record set by their city rivals when they lost the Manchester derby in April 3-2.

The Red Devils, too, won the 2000 Premier League in esteemed fashion, with four games to play.

Arsenal’s Invincibles also won with four games to spare, racking up 90 points in the 2003-04 season to become the first and only side to be crowned Premier League champions without losing a single game.

Man Utd clinched the 2013 title once again with four extra when they sealed the title after defeating Aston Villa on April 28. 

Return to top