Carli Lloyd named finalist for 2016 Best FIFA Women’s Player award

Mitchell Leff
The United States midfielder will look to defend her crown when the award is presented in January.

U.S. national team midfielder Carli Lloyd has been named a finalist for the 2016 Best FIFA Women’s Player award. 

Lloyd, 34, is the current holder of the award, winning the prize in 2015. The Houston Dash and USA midfielder is joined in the final three by Brazilian star Marta and Melanie Behringer, who led Germany to an Olympic gold medal in Rio this summer. 

Lloyd's international coach Jill Ellis was nominated for the Best FIFA Women's coach award, a prize she also took home in 2015. Ellis is joined in the final three by Sweden coach Pia Sundhage and Germany boss Silvia Neid. 

The winner of the awards will be revealed at a ceremony in Zurich on Jan 9. 


Next article:
Why Ki-Jana Hoever's rise is set to inspire Liverpool's talented young stars
Next article:
Southgate hails 'tremendous talent' Rashford
Next article:
'We'll see what happens' - Vela stays quiet on Barcelona links
Next article:
It was a clear goal – Valverde dismisses VR controversy
Next article:
Emery claims Ozil is part of his Arsenal plans