Premier League top scorers 2017-18: Salah moves clear of Kane

ShareClose Comments
Who will finish the season as the top goalscorer in the English top flight? Goal brings you the latest in the race for the Golden Boot

The race for the 2017-18 Premier League Golden Boot is well and truly on, with Harry Kane and Mohamed Salah leading the way, closely followed by Sergio Aguero.

Kane was the clear winner of last season's crown, bagging 29 goals in 30 appearances for Tottenham, while Romelu Lukaku followed with 25 in 37 games for Everton.

New faces such as Chelsea forward Alvaro Morata and Liverpool winger Salah have been added into the mix this season, meaning that the competition is certainly greater.

Goal brings you the latest Premier League top scorer ranking.


Liverpool Salah Firmino Watford

Kane surged into the lead in the final week of 2017 after bagging back-to-back hat-tricks against Burnley and Southampton, but he now looks set to relinquish his crown.

After being ruled out for at least a month due to an ankle injury, he may not have time to catch Salah when he returns to fitness.

Salah went into Saturday's game against Watford level with Kane, but the Egyptian struck four times in a 5-0 rout to move four clear of the England international in the standings.

Manchester City's Argentine star Aguero is on 21 goals after he bagged four in the recent 5-1 demolition of Leicester, while his team-mate Raheem Sterling has scored 15 times.

Lukaku has taken his haul for United to 14, with Jamie Vardy and Salah's team-mate Roberto Firmino also on that figure. Eden Hazard, Glenn Murray, Morata, Wayne Rooney, Riyad Mahrez and Son Heung-min are the only other players to have reached double figures.

*Correct as of March 17, 2018

Pos Player Club Goals
1 Mohamed Salah Liverpool 28
2 Harry Kane Tottenham 24
3 Sergio Aguero Manchester City 21
4 Raheem Sterling Manchester City 15
=5 Romelu Lukaku Manchester United 14
=5 Jamie Vardy Leicester City 14
=5 Roberto Firmino Liverpool 14
8 Son Heung-Min Tottenham 12
=9 Eden Hazard Chelsea 11
=9 Glenn Murray Brighton & Hove Albion 11
=11 Riyad Mahrez Leicester City 10
=11 Alvaro Morata Chelsea 10
=11 Wayne Rooney Everton 10
=14 Alexandre Lacazette Arsenal 9
=14 Anthony Martial Manchester United 9
=16 Jesse Lingard Manchester United 8
=16 Gabriel Jesus Manchester City 8
=16 Alexis Sanchez Manchester United 8
=16 Leroy Sane Manchester City 8
=16 Sadio Mane Liverpool 8
=16 David Silva Manchester City 8
=16 Luka Milivojevic Crystal Palace 8


Harry Kane Tottenham

Article continues below

Harry Kane scored a remarkable 29 goals in the Premier League last season to earn the Golden Boot.

Romelu Lukaku was his closest rival, with 25 in his last campaign for Everton, while Alexis Sanchez netted 24 and Sergio Aguero and Diego Costa both finished on 20.

Dele Alli, Eden Hazard, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Joshua King also exceeded 15 goals for the season.

Next article:
Ronaldo slams 'fake news' amid latest tax case claims
Next article:
'Messi has football inside him' - Pogba admits to being a member of Barcelona star's fan club
Next article:
Van Dijk and Gundogan expect tough City-Liverpool tie
Next article:
Brazil to meet Croatia in England and Austria in Vienna
Next article:
Koeman won't rule out Van Persie Netherlands return