Ballon d'or winners messi ronaldo modricGetty Images

Every Ballon d'Or winner: Messi, Ronaldo & best player awards from 1956 to 2021

Luka Modric became the first man not named Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo to win the Ballon d'Or in over a decade this week. 

Despite Messi and Ronaldo's recent duopoly on the award there was a time where the winner was changing every year.

Goal takes a look at every winner of the prestigious France Football award, from Stanley Matthews winning the inaugural award in 1956 to Modric's triumph in 2018.

Article continues below