Ronaldo, Neymar & the top 25 most-followed footballers on Instagram

ShareClose Comments
Cristiano's social following continues to grow, while Neymar has overtaken Messi in the standings, but who else makes the top 25?

Ask three football fans who the best player in the world is and there's a decent chance you'll get three different answers.

What is harder to argue against, though, is Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo's status as the most popular footballer on the planet.

That is evidenced in Ronaldo's incredible social-media presence, where he boasts a total follower count across Facebook, Twitter and Instagram of over 313 million.

The Real forward is by far the most popular player on Instagram, where photos of his daily life have attracted over 121 million followers as of March 2018.

That puts him 31 million ahead of his nearest competitor Neymar, who has shot ahead of Lionel Messi on the back of his world-record move to PSG.

Insta followers

Messi is less than two million followers behind Neymar but after that there is a huge gulf to the next player, with ex-Manchester United star David Beckham over 45 million fans adrift of the Argentine.

Ronaldinho (30 million) is the only retired player to come close to Beckham (43 million) on Instagram, with Zinedine Zidane (16 million) also featuring further down the top 25. Robert Lewandowski (12 million) narrowly misses out, while Luka Modric is just short of 10 million.

The most popular active British player is Ronaldo's Madrid team-mate Gareth Bale (33 million) by a comfortable margin. 

Article continues below

The most talented young players in the world, meanwhile, have a long way to go before they compete with the established superstars.

Kylian Mbappe (7 million), Gabriel Jesus (six million), Ousmane Dembele, Harry Kane and Marcus Rashford (all four million) and Dele Alli (three million) are not anywhere near the top 25 at the moment.


THE MOST-FOLLOWED FOOTBALLERS ON INSTAGRAM


Player Team Username Followers
Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid cristiano 121m
Neymar PSG neymarjr 90m
Lionel Messi Barcelona leomessi 88m
David Beckham Retired davidbeckham 43m
James Rodriguez Bayern Munich jamesrodriguez10 35m
Gareth Bale Real Madrid garethbale11 33m
Zlatan Ibrahimovic Manchester United iamzlatanibrahimovic 30m
Ronaldinho Retired ronaldinho 30m
Luis Suarez Barcelona luissuarez9 26m
Marcelo Real Madrid marcelotwelve 23m
Karim Benzema Real Madrid karimbenzema 22m
Sergio Ramos Real Madrid sergioramos 22m
Andres Iniesta Barcelona andresiniesta8 21m
Paul Pogba Manchester United paulpogba 21m
David Luiz Chelsea davidluiz_4 18m
Dani Alves PSG danialves 18m
Zinedine Zidane Retired zidane 16m
Mesut Ozil Arsenal m10_official 15m
Toni Kroos Real Madrid toni.kr8s 15m
Gerard Pique Barcelona 3gerardpique 15m
Antoine Griezmann Atletico Madrid antogriezmann 15m
Paulo Dybala Juventus paulodybala 13m
Thiago Silva PSG thiagosilva_33 13m
Kaka Orlando City kaka 13m
Iker Casillas Porto ikercasillas 12m

Next article:
Liverpool pre-season 2018-19: Fixtures, transfers, squad numbers & complete Premier League schedule
Next article:
Arsenal pre-season 2018-19: Fixtures, transfers, squad numbers & complete Premier League schedule
Next article:
Everton pre-season 2018-19: Fixtures, transfers, squad numbers & complete Premier League schedule
Next article:
Chelsea pre-season 2018-19: Fixtures, transfers, squad numbers & complete Premier League schedule
Next article:
Leicester City pre-season fixtures 2018-19 & complete Premier League fixture schedule
Close

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Show more Accept