Ronaldo, Neymar & the top 25 most-followed footballers on Instagram

ShareClose Comments
Who the best player on the planet is may be up for debate, but CR7's social-media supremacy over the rest of the footballing world is not

Ask three football fans who the best player in the world is and there's a decent chance you'll get three different answers.

What is harder to argue against, though, is reigning Men's Player of the Year Cristiano Ronaldo's status as the most popular footballer on the planet.

Ronaldo 15/8 for CL Golden Boot

That is evidenced in Ronaldo's incredible social-media presence, where he boasts a total follower count across Facebook, Twitter and Instagram approaching 300 million.

The Real Madrid star is by far the most popular player on Instagram, where photos of his daily life have attracted over 113 million followers as of October 2017.

That puts him 30 million ahead of his nearest competitor Neymar, who has shot ahead of Lionel Messi on the back of his world-record move to PSG.

Instagram footballers

Messi is less than one million followers behind Neymar but after that there is a huge gulf to the next player, with ex-Manchester United star David Beckham over 40 million fans adrift of the Argentine.

Ronaldinho (27 million) is the only retired player to come close to Beckham (40 million) on Instagram, with Zinedine Zidane (14 million) also featuring further down the top 25.

The most popular active British player is Ronaldo's Madrid team-mate Gareth Bale (31 million) by a comfortable margin. Wayne Rooney, who leads the way as far as English stars are concerned, has 11 million followers.

Article continues below

The most talented young players in the world, meanwhile, have a long way to go before they compete with the established superstars.

Kylian Mbappe, Gabriel Jesus (both four million), Ousmane Dembele, Marcus Rashford (both three million) and Dele Alli (two million) are not anywhere near the top 25 at the moment.


THE MOST-FOLLOWED FOOTBALLERS ON INSTAGRAM


Player Team Username Followers
Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid cristiano 113m
Neymar PSG neymarjr 83m
Lionel Messi Barcelona leomessi 82m
David Beckham Retired davidbeckham 40m
James Rodriguez Bayern Munich jamesrodriguez10 33m
Gareth Bale Real Madrid garethbale11 31m
Zlatan Ibrahimovic Manchester United iamzlatanibrahimovic 28m
Ronaldinho Retired ronaldinho 27m
Luis Suarez Barcelona luissuarez9 25m
Marcelo Real Madrid marcelotwelve 21m
Karim Benzema Real Madrid karimbenzema 20m
Sergio Ramos Real Madrid sergioramos 20m
Andres Iniesta Barcelona andresiniesta8 19m
Paul Pogba Manchester United paulpogba 18m
David Luiz Chelsea davidluiz_4 17m
Dani Alves PSG danialves 16m
Zinedine Zidane Retired zidane 14m
Mesut Ozil Arsenal m10_official 14m
Toni Kroos Real Madrid toni.kr8s 14m
Gerard Pique Barcelona 3gerardpique 14m
Antoine Griezmann Atletico Madrid antogriezmann 13m
Thiago Silva PSG thiagosilva_33 12m
Kaka Orlando City kaka 12m
Iker Casillas Porto ikercasillas 11m
Wayne Rooney Everton waynerooney 11m

Next article:
Elmohamady reveals inspiration behind Egypt’s World Cup qualification
Next article:
Transfer news & rumours LIVE: Pogba being shopped to Madrid
Next article:
Guardiola tells Man City players how to beat Carabao Cup final jitters
Next article:
Barcelona equal record for unbeaten La Liga run
Next article:
EXTRA TIME: Boateng evokes memories of AC Milan vs. Arsenal meeting
Close