News Matches
FIFA Club World Cup

Club World Cup 2021: When it is, fixtures, results & everything you need to know

6:50 AM EST 2/12/22
Chelsea Club World Cup 2021
GOAL brings you everything you need to know about the tournament in the UAE featuring starring clubs from around the world

The 2021 Club World Cup is currently underway, with UEFA Champions League winners Chelsea having the chance to be crowned world champions.

The competition will take place in the UAE, as original hosts Japan pulled out due to concerns around the Covid-19 pandemic.

Below, GOAL has all the details of the upcoming edition of the tournament.

When is the 2021 Club World Cup?

FIFA has announced that the 2021 Club World Cup will run from February 3 to February 12, 2022.

It was originally scheduled to take place between December 9-19, 2021, but was pushed back.

2021 Club World Cup participants




Palmeiras 🇧🇷


2021 Copa Libertadores winners

Chelsea 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿


UEFA Champions League winners

Al Hilal 🇸🇦


AFC Champions League winners

Al Ahly 🇪🇬


CAF Champions League winners

Monterrey 🇲🇽


Concacaf Champions League winners

AS Pirae


Nominated by OFC

Al Jazira 🇦🇪


UAE Pro League winners

Seven teams take part in the competition, with Brazilian side Palmeiras having qualified by winning the 2021 Copa Libertadores to join European champions Chelsea.

Saudi Arabian outfit Al Hilal made the cut after being named victors of the 2021 AFC Champions League, Egypt's Al Ahly through the CAF Champions League and Mexico's Monterrey though the CONCACAF Champions League.

Auckland City had been nominated to play from OFC, but withdrew from the competition in December due to delayed reopening of the New Zealand borders due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

They have since been replaced by Tahitian side AS Pirae.

Al Jazira, members of the AFC hosts, won the Pro League in their home country.

2021 Club World Cup fixtures & results

You can view the schedule for the 2021 Club World Cup below.

The final will be played on February 12 at the Mohammed bin Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.




First round

Al Jazira 4-1 AS Pirae

February 3

Second round

Al Ahly 1-0 Monterrey

February 5

Second round

Al Hilal 6-1 Al Jazira

February 6


Palmeiras 2-0 Al Ahly

February 8


Al Hilal 0-1 Chelsea

February 9

Fifth-place match

Monterrey 3-1 Al Jazira

February 9

Third-place match

Al Hilal 0-4 Al Ahly

February 12


Match 6 Winner vs Match 4 Winner

February 12

*Match 5, the clash to decide who will come fifth overall, will take place before the second semi-final.