'We playing netball?' - Sydney FC awarded questionable penalty in Big Blue

Comments()
The Sky Blues benefitted from a controversial call against Melbourne Victory

Sydney FC were handed a fortunate equaliser in the first-half against Melbourne Victory on Sunday with Terry Antonis deemed to have given away a penalty after making contact with Paulo Retre.

Replays showed the contact was minimal with Retre at long odds to reach the ball, but despite the use of VAR, the penalty decision was allowed to stand for not being a clear and obvious error from the referee.

Adam Le Fondre's resulting penatly would be saved by Lawrence Thomas only for the Sky Blues striker to tuck the ball home on the rebound. 

Though VAR ultimately wasn't allowed to intervene, players and pundits alike believe the decision was clearly the wrong one. 

Article continues below

"That is clearly and obviously not a pen," Mark Bosnich said on Fox Sports.

"(VAR) That's exactly what it's there for." 

It would be a decisive moment in the first 45 minutes as both teams went into the break 1-1.

Close