Uganda 1-2 Zanzibar: Cranes tossed out of Cecafa

Zanzibar cruised into the final after registering a 2-1 win in the second semi-final played at Moi Stadium in Kisumu on Friday

Zanzibar knocked out defending champions Uganda to book Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup final against hostsKenya on Sunday.

Zanzibar cruised into the final after registering a 2-1 win in the second semi-final played at Moi Stadium in Kisumu on Friday. Mohammed Issa-Juma scored Zanzibar Heroes winning goal from the spot to send the tiny semi-autonomous nation to the final.

Zanzibar tested Ugandan patience in the 5th minute with a quick attack but Ismail Watenga saved the situation though he was judged to have handled the ball outside the safe zone, earning Zanzibar Heroes a first free-kick on the edge of the box.

Zanzibar took the lead in the 22nd minute after Abdulaziz Makame Hassan slotted home from close range after a corner. Moses Basena made an early substitution, pulling out Shafiq Bakaki for Joseph Nsubuga as Uganda piled pressure on Zanzibar.

The changes paid off after Derrick Nsibambi canceled out Abdulaziz’s opener in the 28th minute after picking a cool pass from Kaweesa Hood from the right flank.

Zanzibar restored their one-goal advantage from the spot through Mohammed Issa Juma in the 57th minute. Substitute Nsubuga lasted only five minutes after the restart when he was shown a straight red card for bringing down Ibrahim Ahmada inside his box.

Ahmada had raced past his marker inside Ugandan box after a counter-attack that left Nsubuga with no option but to commit a foul on the opponent, leaving the referee with no option but to point at the spot.

The win means that Zanzibar will meet Kenya for the second time after both sides played out to a 0-0 draw in a Group A match.

Uganda starting XI: Ismail Watenga, Bernard Muwanga, Shafiq Bakaki, Nicholas Wadada, Tadeo Lwanga, Allan Kyambande, Milton Kalisa, Derrick Nsibambi, Kaweesa Hood and Mutyaba Muzamir.

Article continues below

Reserved: Benjamin Ochan, Tom Ikara, Daiel Opolot, Joseph Nsubuga, Paul Mucureezi, Sadam Juma, Allan Kiteregga, Nelson Sentakuuka, Awany Timothy, Isaac Muleme and Tom Masiko.

Zanzibar starting XI: Mohammed Abrahman,  Ibrahim Mohamed Said, Adeyum Ahmed Seif, Abdulla Salum Kheri, Issa Haidar Dau, Abdulazizi Makame Hassan, Mohamed Issa Juma, Mudathir Yahya Abass, Ibrahim Hamad Ahmada, Feisal Salum Abdallah and Suleiman Kassim Suleiman.

Reserves: Ahmed Ali Suleima, Nassor Mrisho Salim, Mohd Othman Mmang, Ibrahim Abdallah Hamad, Abdullah Haji Shaibu, Seif Abdallah Rashid, Hamad Mshamata, Khamis Mussa Makame and Abdul Kassim Ali.

Next article:
VOTE NOW | Ramos, Kompany or Van Dijk? Who resembles more to AJAX of Call of duty: Black Ops 4?
Next article:
Arda Turan slapped with biggest fine ever in Turkish football after alleged nightclub brawl with singer
Next article:
ISL 2018-19: ATK's Steve Coppell hoping for a response after poor start
Next article:
Coach Thomas Kojo lectures Liberia on the principles of defending
Next article:
'Arsenal guaranteed a top-four finish' - Pires makes bold Premier League prediction