Senong reveals South Africa's U20 Fifa World Cup squad

On Friday South Africa unveiled their 21-man Amajita squad for the under-20 tournament in Korea

The South African under-20 team will represent the country this month at the Fifa under-20 World Cup in Korea.

Following an intense preparation camp in the Netherlands, coach Thabo Senong has named the players with the responsibility to represent the nation in Asia.

Seven of the players were part of the U17 team that did duty in the 2015 Fifa under-17 World Cup i​n Chile. 

Senong has also called up Portuguese-based Thabo Cele, Luther Singh and Liam Jordan.

“We are humbled to represent our country in the greatest showpiece in the world. We wish to thank the clubs for releasing players in the preparation phase. I believe we have selected a balanced team of players that suit our game model and philosophy. Competing in the World Cup event will be demanding physically and mentally,” said Senong.

“Our players possess good technique with an excellent tactical application.  We are drawn against tough teams in our group. With good team ethics and hard work, I believe that we can surprise our opponents. I have great faith in this group of players that we can really make this a memorable World Cup tournament.”

South Africa will be based in Suwon, also known as ‘The City of Filial Piety’. 

They will open their tournament against Japan on May 21 at the Suwon World Cup stadium.

Full Squad

1.     Sanele Tshabalala    (Bidvest Wits FC)
3.     Mondli Mpoto     (Supersport United FC)
4.     Khulekani Kubheka     (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

Article continues below

4.     Malebogo Modise    (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
5.     Thendo Mukumela    (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
6.     Tercious Malepe     (Orlando Pirates FC)
7.     Shane Saralina     (Ajax Cape Town FC)
8.     Sandile Mthethwa     (Orlando Pirates FC)
9.     Reeve Frosler    (Bidvest Wits FC)

10.     Sipho Mbule     (Supersport United FC)
11.     Wiseman Meyiwa     (Kaizer Chiefs FC)
12.     Sibongakonke Mbatha     (Bidvest Wits FC)
13.     Kobamelo Kodisang     (Platinum Stars FC)
14.     Luther Singh          (Sporting Braga)
15.     Grant Margeman     (Ajax Cape Town FC)
16.     Thabo Cele     (Benfica FC)
17.     Teboho Mokoena     (Supersport United FC)
18.     Masilakhe Phohlongo     (Ajax Cape Town FC)

19.     Phakamani Mahlambi     (Bidvest Wits FC)
20.     Liam Jordan     (Sporting Lisbon FC)
21     Keletso Makgalwa    (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

Next article:
Arsenal star Lacazette missing Ligue 1 as he accuses Premier League of having 'more spectators than supporters'
Next article:
Brazil & Argentina: 104 years of a great rivalry
Next article:
Notable absences in Thailand's AFF squad
Next article:
England's 'wonderful bravery' leaves Southgate excited for the future
Next article:
Bandari calls for open trials to beef up squad