TEAM NEWS: England make six changes as Rooney drops to the bench

ShareClose Comments
Roy Hodgson has introduced the likes of Jamie Vardy, Daniel Sturridge and Jack Wilshere as the Three Lions look to seal top spot in Group B

England coach Roy Hodgson has made six changes to his team as the Three Lions look to secure a victory over Slovakia that will seal their progression to the Euro 2016 knockout stage as Group B winners.

Jamie Vardy and Daniel Sturridge both start for the Three Lions following their superb cameos off the bench against Wales - both players scored in the 2-1 victory, with the Liverpool striker netting in injury time - with Harry Kane and Raheem Sterling both benched.

Jack Wilshere and Jordan Henderson also get the nod after missing the opening two games, replacing Dele Alli and captain Wayne Rooney. Eric Dier retains his place in midfield.

Nathaniel Clyne and Ryan Bertrand start at full-back, with Kyle Walker and Danny Rose rested, while Chris Smalling and Gary Cahill continue their partnership in central defence. Joe Hart is in goal.

England know that a win will secure top spot in Group B and confirm a clash with a third-placed qualifier in the last 16. Slovakia can also qualify, however, and will hope to progress themselves with a victory.

Next article:
Fabio wants to continue at KL, reveals offer from Thailand
Next article:
Chelsea vs Perth Glory: Kick-off time, TV channel, live stream, squad news & preview
Next article:
Karius slams critics despite error in Dortmund defeat
Next article:
'You don't get always in life what you want' - Mourinho responds to Martial exit talk
Next article:
Klopp hails Dortmund star Pulisic after Liverpool loss

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Show more Accept