News Live Scores
United States

Morgan, Navas win CONCACAF Player of the Year honors

11:04 PM EST 12/17/17
Alex Morgan USWNT
The United States and Costa Rica stars have been named the region's top players of 2017

Alex Morgan and Keylor Navas have earned CONCACAF's Player of the Year honors for 2017, the confederation announced Sunday.

Morgan earned the Female Player of the Year prize for the third time since CONCACAF's awards kicked off in 2013, while Navas won his second Male Player of the Year honor.

The awards are decided in an equally weighted vote among media, fans, and national team coaches and captains.

Having won the award in 2013 and 2016, Morgan again earned the honor after lifting the UEFA Champions League trophy while on loan to Lyon and scoring nine goals in 13 NWSL games with the Orlando Pride. The 28-year-old also netted a team-leading seven goals in 14 games for the United States.

Navas, meanwhile, was between the posts for a Real Madrid side that won the Champions League, La Liga, UEFA Super Cup and Supercopa de Espana. The 31-year-old, who also won CONCACAF's top honor in 2014, conceded just six goals in seven World Cup qualifiers as Costa Rica secured a place at Russia 2018.