FA Cup 2018-19: Draw, fixtures, results & guide to each round

Last updated
Goal brings you all you need to know about the oldest competition in football, with the first round now underway

England's FA Cup is the oldest football competition in the world and this season it returns for the 138th time.

The tournament involves teams from the 10th level of the English football pyramid to the top and will see a total of 736 teams take part.

With a rich history stretching back to the 19th century, there have been plenty of moments to savour through the years and clubs will be eager to dabble in the 'Magic of the Cup'. 

Article continues below

Chelsea are the reigning champions, while Arsenal are the most successful club in the history of the competition and both will no doubt be vying for glory.

However, with one-off knockout games there is always a chance of a 'giant killing'.

With the 2018-19 edition under way, Goal brings you everything you need to know about this season's FA Cup.

When did the FA Cup start & when is the final?

The first round proper of this season's FA Cup began on Friday November 9, with 48 clubs from League One and League Two entering at that stage.

Premier League and Championship clubs do not enter the competition until the third round proper, which is scheduled to begin on the weekend of Saturday January 5.

FA Cup Trophy

Before the first round proper, there were a number of qualifying rounds involving teams from the lower rungs of English football, beginning with the extra preliminary qualifying round, which was played on August 10.

Including the extra preliminary round, there were a total of six qualifying rounds before teams from the Football League enter.

The 2019 FA Cup final is scheduled to take place on Saturday, May 18 and it will be held at Wembley.

FA Cup second round

The second-round draw of the FA Cup took place on Monday following the conclusion of the first round, which took place between October 9-12.

Forty teams remain in the competition as side fight it out for a place in round three, when sides from the Premier League and the Championship enter the fray.

Among those in the pot are a clutch of sides from the Premier League including Portsmouth, Sunderland, Blackpool, Barnsley and Swindon Town.

Second round games themselves are scheduled to be played on the weekend which starts Friday, November 30.

Date Match TV?
TBC Guiseley vs Fleetwood Town TBC
TBC Bury vs Luton Town TBC
TBC Wrexham vs Newport County TBC
TBC Tranmere Rovers or Oxford City vs Southport TBC
TBC Southend United or Crawley Town vs Barnsley TBC
TBC Shrewsbury Town or Salford City vs Scunthorpe United TBC
TBC Solihull Moors vs Blackpool TBC
TBC Chesterfield or Billericay Town vs Grimsby Town TBC
TBC Peterborough United vs Aldershot Town or Bradford City TBC
TBC Swindon Town vs Woking TBC
TBC Maidstone United vs Hampton & Richmond or Oldham Athletic TBC
TBC Lincoln City vs Carlisle United TBC
TBC Morecambe or FC Halifax Town vs AFC Wimbledon TBC
TBC Plymouth Argyle vs Oxford United or Forest Green Rovers TBC
TBC Barnet or Bristol Rovers vs Stockport County TBC
TBC Rochdale vs Portsmouth TBC
TBC Walsall vs Sunderland TBC
TBC Accrington Stanley vs Ebbsfleet United or Cheltenham Town TBC
TBC Mansfield Town or Charlton Athletic vs Chorley or Doncaster Rovers TBC
TBC Sutton United or Slough Town vs Gillingham or Hartlepool United TBC

FA Cup first round

The first-round draw of the FA Cup took place on Monday following the conclusion of the fourth qualifying round, which wrapped up on the weekend of October 20.

Forty-eight teams from League One and League Two enter the competition at this stage, where they will join the 32 winners from the previous round.

Among those in the pot are two teams from the seventh tier of English football, Southern League Premier Division side Metropolitan Police and Isthmian Premier's Haringey Borough, and Weston Super-Mare of the sixth-tier National League South.

First round games themselves are scheduled to be played on the weekend of Saturday, November 10.

Date Match TV?
Nov 9 Haringey Borough 0-1 Wimbledon BBC Two
Nov 10 Maidenhead United 0-4 Portsmouth BT Sport 1
Nov 10 Maidstone United 2-1 Macclesfield Town No
Nov 10 Ebbsfleet United 0-0 Cheltenham Town No
Nov 10 Swindon Town 2-1 York City No
Nov 10 Torquay United 0-1 Woking No
Nov 10 Scunthorpe United 2-1 Burton Albion No
Nov 10 Aldershot Town 1-1 Bradford City No
Nov 10 Grimsby Town 3-1 MK Dons No
Nov 10 Bromley 1-3 Peterborough United No
Nov 10 Southport 2-0 Boreham Wood No
Nov 10 Plymouth Argyle 1-0 Stevenage No
Nov 10 Chesterfield 1-1 Billericay Town No
Nov 10 Lincoln City 3-2 Northampton Town No
Nov 10 Yeovil Town 1-3 Stockport County No
Nov 10 Bury 5-0 Dover Athletic No
Nov 10 Gillingham 0-0 Hartlepool United No
Nov 10 Oxford United 0-0 Forest Green Rovers No
Nov 10 Tranmere Rovers 3-3 Oxford City No
Nov 10 Accrington Stanley 1-0 Colchester United No
Nov 10 Barnsley 4-0 Notts County No
Nov 10 Metropolitan Police 0-2 Newport County No
Nov 10 Walsall 3-2 Coventry City No
Nov 10 Rochdale 2-1 Gateshead No
Nov 10 Sutton United 0-0 Slough Town No
Nov 10 Exeter City 2-3 Blackpool No
Nov 10 Luton Town 2-0 Wycombe Wanderers No
Nov 10 Morecambe 0-0 Halifax Town No
Nov 10 Crewe Alexandra 0-1 Carlisle United No
Nov 10 Southend United 1-1 Crawley Town No
Nov 11 Mansfield Town 1-1 Charlton Athletic No
Nov 11 Chorley 2-2 Doncaster Rovers No
Nov 11 Alfreton Town 1-4 Fleetwood Town No
Nov 11 Barnet 1-1 Bristol Rovers No
Nov 11 Shrewsbury Town 1-1 Salford City No
Nov 11 Hitchin Town 0-2 Solihull Motors No
Nov 11 Guiseley 4-3 Cambridge United No
Nov 11 Weston Super Mare 0-2 Wrexham No
Nov 11 Port Vale 1-2 Sunderland BT Sport 1
Nov 12 Hampton & Richmond Borough vs Oldham Athletic BT Sport 1

FA Cup first-round replays

Date Match TV?
Nov 20 Cheltenham Town vs Ebbsfleet United TBC
Nov 20 Charlton Athletic vs Mansfield Town TBC
Nov 20 Bradford City vs Aldershot Town TBC
Nov 20 Doncaster Rovers vs Chorley TBC
Nov 20 Billericay Town vs Chesterfield TBC
Nov 20 Forest Green Rovers vs Oxford United TBC
Nov 20 Oxford City vs Tranmer Rovers TBC
Nov 20 Salford City vs Shrewsbury Town TBC
Nov 20 Slough Town vs Sutton United TBC
Nov 20 Halifax Town vs Morecambe TBC
Nov 20 Crawley Town vs Southend United TBC
Nov 21 Bristol Rovers vs Barnet TBC
Nov 21 Hartlepool United vs Gillingham TBC

Fixture dates subject to change pending television scheduling.

FA Cup TV channel & stream

FA Cup 2018

UK TV channel Online stream
BBC / BT Sport BBC iPlayer / BT Sport app

The FA Cup will be broadcast on the BBC and BT Sport in the United Kingdom.

Both networks will air the final and will share the rest of the competition, taking turns to select the games they wish to broadcast.

All matches shown by the BBC and BT Sport will be available to stream on their respective websites and apps.

US TV channel Online stream

In the United States, the rights to the FA Cup are owned by ESPN, but the games will exclusively be streamed online via ESPN+. 

That means the games will not be shown live on television in the US.

Next article:
Higuain handed two-match ban for Juventus meltdown
Next article:
Alba denies Luis Enrique bust-up after earning Spain recall
Next article:
Verratti 'not thinking about' leaving PSG amid Juventus & Barcelona links
Next article:
Kewell sacked by Notts County after just three months as manager
Next article:
Weah living the dream as he prepares for Wembley date with Rooney and England