TMJ officially takes over as new FAM President

Tengku Mahkota Johor Tunku Ismail Sultan Ibrahim, FAM Congress 2017, 25/03/2017
Tunku Ismail Sultan Ibrahim was officially announced as the new FAM President after the 53rd FAM Congress on Saturday afternoon

 BY       OOI KIN FAI      Follow on Twitter

It's official! The Crown Prince of Johor, Tunku Ismail Sultan Ibrahim (TMJ) was officially installed as the new President of Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) in the just concluded 53rd FAM Congress held earlier today.

While the pull-out of Tan Sri Annuar Musa earlier in the week had all but confirmed TMJ as the winner of the presidential race, it still needed to go through the process of confirmation during the congress. TMJ and the rest of his new committee will serve for the period of 2017 to 2021.

It was a more surprising affair for the other posts as former Deputy President, Dato' Sri Hj Afandi Hamzah was ousted from his post as Datuk Wira Mohd Yusoff Mahadi and Dato' Sri Subahan Kamal garnered more votes to be the new Deputy Presidents.

Dato' Ab Ghani Hassan, Dato' S. Sivasundaram, Datuk Rosmadi Ismail and Joehari Ayub all won the race for the four Vice-President posts while more shocks came in the election of the women executive committee members. Dato' Suraya Yaacob and Shafizah Umanah were voted in ahead of five other candidates. Full list of committee members can be seen below.

In his first address immediately after being installed as the new president of FAM, TMJ served a warning to the committee members and affiliates that it won't be an easy ride out from here onwards.

"Congratulations to all that won today but they shouldn't be too comfortable. What is important is that we are aware of our responsibilities and the trust given to us. Football belongs to the people and we are serving them. I call upon everyone here to be mindful of their integrity, professionalism and dedication towards their job," said TMJ in his address.

President : Tunku Ismail Sultan Ibrahim

Deputy President: Dato' Sri Subahan Kamal, Datuk Wira Mohd Yusoff Mahadi

Vice President: Dato' Ab Ghani Hassan, Dato' S. Sivasundaram, Datuk Rosmadi Ismail, Joehari Ayub

Exco (men): Dato' Azisman Alias, Dato' Aminuddin Omar, Datuk Hishamudin Yahaya, Dato' Jefferey Low, Supt Md Dali Wahid, Christopher Raj, Subkhiddin Mohd Salleh, Firdaus Mohamed

Exco (women): Dato' Suraya Yaacob, Shafizah Umamah 


Annuar Musa backs out of race, TMJ set to capture FAM presidential seat unopposed

TMJ outlines main plans if elected as FAM President

'Khairy wants affiliates to elect TSAM over me'