Adelaide, Western Sydney reveal AFC Champions League squads

The Reds and the Wanderers have named many youngsters in their squads but it is the omitted foreign players who will dominate headlines

Adelaide United and Western Sydney Wanderers have named their AFC Champions League (ACL) squads with Marcelo Carrusca, Iacopo La Rocca and Bruno Pinatares missing out for their respective clubs.

New signings Baba Diawara, Kim Jae-sung and Eli Babalj have all been included in Adelaide's squad, with the former two taking up import berths alongside Isaias and Sergio Cirio.

La Rocca missed out on being classed as an Australian as players must hold a new citizenship for 12 months before they can be registered under that passport, according to Asian Football Confederation (AFC) rules.

The Italian defender became an Australian citizen in November.

Amor: Adelaide contract talks on hold

Carrusca, who was critical to Adelaide's premiership-championship double last season but missed Adelaide's first four A-League matches of 2016-17 due to injury, has been out of favour this term as he has started just nine of the Reds' 19 games.

Meanwhile, Western Sydney coach Tony Popovic has plumped for Dimas, Aritz Borda, Nico Martinez and Jumpei Kusukami as the Wanderers' four foreign players under the 3+1 rule.

Unsurprisingly, Pinatares was the foreign player to miss out as he hasn't started in Western Sydney's past five matches.

EXCLUSIVE: Jumpei relishing A-League challenge

Kearyn Baccus has moved above the Uruguayan in Popovic's midfield pecking order.

The Wanderers will start their 2017 ACL campaign against Urawa Red Diamonds at Campbelltown Stadium on February 21 and will also face Shanghai SIPG and FC Seoul in Group F.

Adelaide will also begin against a J.League club with Gamba Osaka set to visit Coopers Stadium on February 22 in the Reds' Group H opener.

Popovic dismisses Shenhua reports

Guillermo Amor's side will also play Jiangsu Suning and Jeju United.


Adelaide United: Eugene Galekovic, John Hall, Daniel Margush; Michael Marrone, Dylan McGowan, Taylor Reagan, Mark Ochieng, Ben Warland, Ben Garuccio, Tarek Elrich, Paul Wilson; Kim Jae-sung, Isaias, George Mells, Jesse Makarounas, Nikola Mileusnic, Riley McGree, Ryan Kitto, Jordan O'Doherty, Lachlan Brooke, Ryan Yates, Ryan Strain; Baba Diawara, Sergio Cirio, Marc Marino, Joshua Mori, Alec Maiolo, Eli Babalj

Article continues below


Western Sydney Wanderers: Jerrad Tyson, Vedran Janjetovic, Nicholas Suman; Shannon Cole, Jack Clisby, Brendan Hamill, Scott Neville, Aritz Borda, Robert Cornthwaite, Jonathan Aspropotamitis, Jackson Bandiera, Keanu Baccus; Mitch Nichols, Steven Lustica, Dimas, Nico Martinez, Jumpei Kusukami, Kearyn Baccus, Jacob Melling, Mario Shabow, Terry Antonis, Liam Youlley, Tariq Maia; Brendon Santalab, Jaushua Sotirio, Lachlan Scott, Stefan Zinni, Ryan Griffiths, Ramy Najjarine, Abraham Majok