From Ronaldo, Messi to Lewandowski - Who are the 32 captains set to lead their country in the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski, captainsGetty Images

The 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup is all set to kick off on November 21, 2022, in Doha, Qatar. 32 teams, including hosts Qatar, have already booked their places in the final round of the tournament.

The top players in world football will be in action contesting for the ultimate glory.

Lionel Messi to Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski, who are in the twilight of their international careers, will be seen donning the captain's armband for their respective countries and will hope to lead their teams to title triumph.

France's Hugo Lloris, who had won the title last year, will be once again leading the team from the front and will hope to become the first captain in history to win back-to-back World Cup titles.

  • Mathew Ryan Australia v South Korea Asian Cup final 310115Getty

    Mathew Ryan (Australia)

    Current club: Real Sociedad

  • Ehsan Hajsafi - IranGetty

    Ehsan Hajsafi (Iran)

    Current club: AEK Athens

  • Maya Yoshida Japan 2022Getty Images

    Maya Yoshida (Japan)

    Current club: Sampdoria

  • Hassan Al-Haydos Qatar 2021Getty

    Hassan Al-Haydos (Qatar)

    Current club: Al Sadd

  • Salman Al-Faraj - saudi - oman 7-9-2021saudi nt twitter

    Salman Al-Faraj (Saudi Arabia)

    Current club: Al-Hilal

  • Son Heung-Min Corea del SurGetty

    Son Heung-min (South Korea)

    Current club: Tottenham Hotspur

  • Vincent Aboubakar - mohamed el nenny - egypt - cameroon - afcon 2021getty

    Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon)

    Current club: Al Nassr

  • Andre Ayew Ghana

    Andre Ayew (Ghana)

    Current club: Al Sadd

  • Morocco's defender Romain Saiss (R) passes the ball as he is marked by Namibia's forward Peter Shalulile during the 2019 Africa Cup of NationsGetty

    Romain Saïss (Morocco)

    Current club: Wolves

  • Sénégal Kalidou KoulibalyGetty Images

    Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal)

    Current club: Napoli

  • Youssef MsakniGetty

    Youssef Msakni (Tunisia)

    Current club: Al Duhail

  • Atiba Hutchinson Canada 2004Getty Images

    Atiba Hutchinson (Canada)

    Current club: Besiktas


    Bryan Ruiz (Costa Rica)

    Current club: Alajuelense

  • andres guardadoPatrick Smith

    Andres Guardado (Mexico)

    Current club: Real Betis

  • Christian Pulisic United States USMNTGetty

    Christian Pulisic (USA)

    Current club: Chelsea

  • Lionel Messi Argentina Ecuador Copa America 2021Getty

    Lionel Messi (Argentina)

    Current club: PSG

  • Thiago Silva Brazil Netherlands 2014 World Cup third-place playoffBrazil Netherlands 2014 World Cup third-place playoffGetty

    Thiago Silva (Brazil)

    Current club: Chelsea

  • DeAndre Yedlin Enner Valencia USA United States Ecuador 10102014David Butler II

    Enner Valencia (Ecuador)

    Current club: Fenerbahce

  • Diego Godin Uruguay Italy World CupGetty Images

    Diego Godin (Uruguay)

    Current club: Velez Sarsfield

  • Eden Hazard, Bélgica vs.

    Eden Hazard (Belgium)

    Current club: Real Madrid

  • Ivan Perisic Luka Modric CroatiaGetty

    Luka Modric (Croatia)

    Current club: Real Madrid

  • Sabrina Kvist Jensen Simon Kjaer Denmark Euro 2020Getty

    Simon Kjaer (Denmark)

    Current club: AC Milan

  • Harry Kane England Italy Nations LeagueGetty

    Harry Kane (England)

    Current club: Tottenham Hotspur

  • Hugo Lloris FranceGetty

    Hugo Lloris (France)

    Current club: Tottenham Hotspur

  • Manuel Neuer Germany England Nations League 07062022Getty

    Manuel Neuer (Germany)

    Current club: Bayern Munich

  • Virgil van Dijk, Netherlands 2022Getty

    Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands)

    Current club: Liverpool

  • Robert Lewandowski - Belgium vs Poland UEFA Nations League 2022Getty Images

    Robert Lewandowski (Poland)

    Current club: Bayern Munich

  • Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal 2022Getty Images

    Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)

    Current club: Manchester United

  • Dusan Tadic Serbia Costa Rica

    Dusan Tadic (Serbia)

    Current club: Ajax

  • Sergio Busquets EspañaGetty Images

    Sergio Busquets (Spain)

    Current club: FC Barcelona

  • Granit Xhaka, Borussia MoenchengladbachAFP

    Granit Xhaka (Switzerland)

    Current club: Arsenal

  • GARETH BALEGetty Images

    Gareth Bale (Wales)

    Current club: Without a club