Sligo & St Pat's dominate PFAI Team of the Year while Finn, McGuinness, O'Connor & Quigley nominated for individual award

The Bit O'Red and the Saints make up the majority of the team, while Ronan Finn, Jason McGuinness, Sean O'Connor and Mark Quigley were shortlisted for the individual award
Airtricity Premier Division champions Sligo Rovers and St Patrick's Athletic have dominated the PFAI Team of the Year, which was announced today, Thursday October 25.

The team is selected by the Professional Footballers Association of Ireland (PFAI) and was announced this afternoon ahead of the final set of league games.

The Bit O'Red are represented by a total of five players, while St Pat's have contributed four players to the end of season best XI. The other clubs represented are Shamrock Rovers and Derry City.

Sligo Rovers goalkeeper Gary Rogers is joined by team mates Jason McGuinness and Gavin Peers in defence while Saints full backs Ian Bermingham and Ger O'Brien complete the back five.

St Pat's midfielders James Chambers and Sean O'Connor join Shamrock Rovers' Ronan Finn and Derry City's Stephen McLaughlin in midfield, while up front, Sligo Rovers duo Mark Quigley and Danny North complete the eleven.

Full PFAI Team of the Season

Rogers (Sligo Rovers); O’Brien (St Pat’s), McGuinness (Sligo Rovers), Peers (Sligo Rovers), Bermingham (St Pat’s); O’Connor (St Pat’s), Finn (Shamrock Rovers), Chambers (St Pat’s), McLaughlin (Derry City); Quigley (Sligo Rovers), North (Sligo Rovers)

Meanwhile, the nominees for the individual awards were also announced:

Player of the Year

Ronan Finn - Shamrock Rovers

Jason McGuinness - Sligo Rovers

Sean O'Connor - St Patrick's Athletic

Mark Quigley - Sligo Rovers

Young Player of the Year

David Cawley - Sligo Rovers

Chris Forrester - St Patrick's Athletic

Sean Maguire - Waterford

Irish Overseas Player of the Year

Wes Hoolahan - Norwich City

Shane Long - West Bromwich Albion

James McClean - Sunderland

Referee of the Year

Neil Doyle

Alan Kelly

Paul McLoughlin