Arab Club Championship to kick-start in July

Ahmet Atta
After a hiatus of three years, the popular football competition returns in a new avatar this July…

It’s good news for football fans in the Arab world as the United Arab Football Association (UAFA) announced the re-launch of the Arab Club Championship which was last held in 2013.

A total of 12 teams would participate in the esteemed competition, with 10 already having made the cut with two yet to qualify.

The 10 qualified teams are: Al Ahly, Zamalek (Egypt), Al-Nassr, Al-Hilal (Saudi Arabia), Esperance Sportive de Tunis (Tunisia), Al-Ain (UAE), Fath Union Sport (Morocco), Al-Faisaly (Jordan) and Al Naft (Iraq).

WATCH: Memphis's delightful goal in training

One of the final two teams will be winner of the qualification of Sudanese Al-Merrikh and Mauritanian ASC Tevragh-Zeine, and Lebanese Al-Ahed and Omani Fanja SC while an Algerian club team is also expected to complete the roster.

Arab Club Championship

The draw will be hosted in Cairo, Egypt in May. 12 teams will be divided into three clusters and the top trio automatically qualifying for the semis. The final berth will be handed to the best second placed team of the three groups.

Verratti hands PSG boost ahead of Barcelona tie

The Club Championship will be held between 22 July to 6 August, 2017.

Interestingly, UAFA president Turk Ben Naif mentioned that for the coming editions of the competition, the winners of the domestic league and cup champions would by default qualify for the Arab Club Championship.