FIFA 21: What leagues & competitions will be in the new game?

FIFA 21 Kylian Mbappe Erling Haaland Trent Alexander-Arnold
EA Sports / Goal composite
The best-selling video game franchise will have leagues from all over the world, as well as a number of continental tournaments

Having an array of official licenses and authentic teams has long been a selling point of EA Sports' FIFA franchise and FIFA 21 will be no different.

Real kits and genuine team names help to augment the gamer's immersive experience while playing, with FIFA consistently boasting the most extensive catalogue of licensed competitions.

While competitors have been catching up in recent years, FIFA 21 will be the only game to feature certain competitions, so it will be something to bear in mind when you're deciding whether to buy or not.

There will be over 700 teams to play with, so which leagues and cup competitions are available in the latest edition of FIFA? Goal brings you all the details.

What leagues & competitions will be in FIFA 21?

FIFA 21 will have over 30 leagues and competitions, including a host of the world's biggest tournaments, such as the Champions League and the Premier League.

You can see the confirmed leagues and competitions (in bold) that are expected to be in FIFA 21 in the table below.
(*Teams marked with an asterisk featured in FIFA 20 and have not yet been officially confirmed for FIFA 21.)

Competition Country / Region
Primera Division* Argentina
A-League Australia
Bundesliga* Austria
Pro League* Belgium
Liga Do Brasil* Brazil
Primera Division* Chile
Chinese Super League China
Primera Division* Colombia
Superliga* Denmark
Premier League England
Championship England
League One England
League Two England
Ligue 1 France
Ligue 2* France
Bundesliga Germany
Bundesliga 2.* Germany
3. Liga* Germany
Serie A Italy
Calcio B* Italy
Premier Division* Ireland
J1 League Japan
Liga MX Mexico
Eredivisie Netherlands
Eliteserien* Norway
Ekstraklasa Poland
Primeira Liga Portugal
Liga 1* Romania
MBS Pro League Saudi Arabia
Scottish Premiership* Scotland
K-League 1* South Korea
La Liga Spain
La Liga 2* Spain
Allskenskan* Sweden
Super League* Switzerland
Super Lig* Turkey
Major League Soccer United States / Canada
Champions League Europe
Europa League Europe
UEFA Super Cup Europe
Copa Libertadores South America
Copa Sudamericana South America
Recopa Sudamericana South America

The Champions League, Europa League and UEFA Super Cup are exclusive to FIFA 21, as are the Copa Libertadores, Copa Sudamericana, the Premier League, Bundesliga and La Liga. 

As well as the Premier League, English football fans will be able to play with all 72 EFL teams across the Championship, League One and League Two. 

Kylian Mbappe, of course, is the star attraction on the cover of the game and Ligue 1 is also one of FIFA's official leagues, along with the Eredivisie in the Netherlands and the Primeira Division in Portugal.

Italy's Serie A is part of FIFA 21, but it will not have Juventus due to a deal between the Bianconeri and Konami. Instead, the Turin outfit will be presented as Piemonte Calcio. However, FIFA 21 will be the only place to play with AC Milan and Inter, with Konami's agreements with those clubs coming to an end.

The Chinese Super League and Japan's J-1 League are included in FIFA 21 too, as is Australia's A-League, if you're looking for a taste of football in the southern hemisphere.

North American soccer teams are available through the inclusion of Major League Soccer and Liga MX.