'Worst penalty decision ever' - Twitter explodes as Sterling awarded spot-kick after tripping himself vs Shakhtar

Last updated
The England international dug his foot into the ground and was awarded a penalty - would you have owned up?

Raheem Sterling's form is so good right now that he's been awarded a penalty for falling over himself.

The Manchester City forward latched on to a fine through-ball and looked set to test Shakhtar Donetsk keeper Andriy Pyatov with a left-footed strike as the Premier League champions hosted the Ukraine side in the Champions League Wednesday evening.

Sterling completely fluffed his lines however, digging his foot into the turf as he swung for the shot, taking himself to the ground in the process.

Despite the lack of contact with his opponent the referee still pointed to the spot, awarding City a penalty that they hardly deserved. 

See the video below, paying particular attention to Pyatov's reaction.

Sterling did apologise after the match, saying to BT Sport: "I went to chip the ball and don't know what happened. I didn't feel contact. I scuffed the ball. Apologies to the ref."

Understandably, however, Twitter had already had a field day:

Sterling's phantom penalty ultimately had little effect on the outcome of the match, as City stormed to a 6-0 win over Shakhtar. 

Next article:
'No struggle' between France stars Mbappe and Griezmann – Deschamps
Next article:
Australia vs Korea Republic: TV channel, live stream, squad, Socceroos news & preview
Next article:
Neymar: Emery will bring 'good things' for Arsenal
Next article:
Rooney: Kane will beat my England scoring record
Next article:
Jedvaj backs Croatia as favourites against England after last-gasp win over Spain