This page contains affiliate links. When you subscribe through the links provided, we may earn a commission.
Columbus Crew MLS Cup 2023Getty Images

MLS Cup winners: Full list of champions - from D.C. United to LAFC

Major League Soccer's history may not go back as far as most other leagues, but American and Canadian soccer has already seen many memorable teams provide many memorable moments with trophies on the line.

MLS Cup is the league's top trophy, even with the rise in importance of the Supporters' Shield over the years. At the end of it all, a full season comes down to just one final game: the MLS Cup final.

As of 2023, after the introduction of St Louis City, a total of 32 different clubs have played in MLS and 19 have appeared in at least one MLS Cup final. Of those 19, 15 teams have lifted the trophy in the end at one point or another.

Article continues below

With the introduction of seven-time Ballon d'Or winner, Lionel Messi to the league with Inter Miami, MLS has seen a major spike in viewership. Despite the Argentine's heroics with the club in the 2023 Leagues Cup, the Herons failed to replicate the same form in the Eastern Conference and will miss out on the chance to make it to the finals having missed out on the playoffs. However, the playoffs have had a newcomer with expansion side St Louis City making it to the playoffs on their first try. Could they become the third side in history, after Houston Dynamo and Chicago Fire, to win the MLS Cup in their expansion season? Defending champions, LAFC, have also safely made it to the playoff this season and the Black and Gold will look to win their second consecutive MLS Cup.

But which clubs are they? GOAL has you covered with everything you need to know.

This page contains affiliate links. When you subscribe through the links provided, we may earn a commission.

Sign up here for MLS Season Pass through Apple TV and watch every MLS match, including the playoffs!

All MLS Cup final results



DC UnitedLA Galaxy

D.C. United 3-2 LA Galaxy

Mario Etchevvery


DC UnitedColorado Rapids

D.C. United 2-1 Colorado Rapids

Jaime Moreno


Chicago FireDC United

Chicago Fire 2-0 D.C. United

Petr Nowak


DC UnitedLA Galaxy

D.C. United 2-0 LA Galaxy

Ben Olsen


Kansas City WizardsChicago Fire

Kansas City Wizards 1-0 Chicago Fire

Tony Meola


San Jose EarthquakesLA Galaxy

San Jose Earthquakes 2-1 LA Galaxy

Dwayne De Rosario


LA GalaxyNew England Revolution

LA Galaxy 1 -0 New England Revolution

Carlos Ruiz


San Jose EarthquakesChicago Fire

San Jose Earthquakes 4-2 Chicago Fire

Landon Donovan


DC UnitedKansas City Wizards

D.C. United 3-2 Kansas City Wizards

Alecko Eskandaraian


LA GalaxyNew England Revolution

LA Galaxy 1 -0 New England Revolution

Guillermo Ramirez


Houston DynamoLA Galaxy

Houston Dynamo 1 (4)-(3) 1 LA Galaxy

Brian Ching


Houston DynamoNew England Revolution

Houston Dynamo 2-1 New England Revolution

Dwayne De Rosario


Columbus CrewNew York Red Bulls

Columbus Crew 3-1 New York Red Bulls

Guillermo Barros Schelotto


Real Salt LakeLA Galaxy

Real Salt Lake 1 (5) - (4) 1 LA Galaxy

Nick Rimando


Colorado RapidsFC Dallas

Colorado Rapids 2-1 FC Dallas

Conor Casey


LA GalaxyHouston Dynamo

LA Galaxy 1-0 Houston Dynamo

Landon Donovan


LA GalaxyHouston Dynamo

LA Galaxy 3-1 Houston Dynamo

Omar Gonzalez


Sporting KCReal Salt Lake

Sporting KC 1 (7) - (6) 1 Real Salt Lake

Aurelien Collin


LA GalaxyNew England Revolution

LA Galaxy 2-1 New England Revolution

Robbie Keane


Portland TimbersColumbus Crew

Portland Timbers 2 -1 Columbus Crew

Diego Valeri


Seattle SoundersToronto FC

Seattle Sounders 0 (5) - (4) 0 Toronto FC

Stefan Frei


Toronto FCSeattle Sounders

Toronto FC 2-0 Seattle Sounders

Jozy Altidore


Atlanta UnitedPortland Timbers

Atlanta United 2-0 Portland Timbers

Josef Martinez


Seattle SoundersToronto FC

Seattle Sounders 3-1 Toronto FC

Victor Rodriguez


Columbus CrewSeattle Sounders

Columbus Crew 3-0 Seattle Sounders

Lucas Zelarayan


New York City FCPortland Timbers

New York City FC 1 (4) - (2) 1 Portland Timbers

Sean Johnson


Los Angeles FCPhiladelphia Union

LAFC 3 (3) - (0) 3 Philadelphia Union

John McCarthy


Columbus CrewLos Angeles FC

Columbus Crew 2-1 Los Angeles FC

Cucho Hernandez

MLS Cup wins by club


MLS Cups

LA Galaxy

5 (2002, 2005, 2011, 2012, 2014)

D.C. United

4 (1996, 1997, 1999, 2004)

Columbus Crew

3 (2008, 2020, 2023)

Houston Dynamo

2 (2006, 2007)

Seattle Sounders

2 (2016, 2019)

Sporting KC

2 (2000, 2013)

San Jose Earthquakes

2 (2001, 2003)

New York City FC

1 (2021)

Atlanta United

1 (2018)

Toronto FC

1 (2017)

Portland Timbers

1 (2015)

Colorado Rapids

1 (2010)

Real Salt Lake

1 (2009)

Chicago Fire

1 (1998)


1 (2022)