Euro 2024 qualifying draw: Date, time, seeding pots & where to watch & stream live

Euro 2024 European Championship trophy Erling Haaland Jude BellinghamGetty/GOAL composite

The 2024 iteration of UEFA's premier international football competition, the European Championship, will be hosted in Germany. It will be the second time that the tournament is played on German soil after 1988.

The 2024 edition will see a return to the traditional format of a single country staging affairs, with Euro 2020 a pan-European event spanning 12 countries.

GOAL brings you everything you need to know about the Euro 2024 qualification draw, including the date, time and where to watch it live.

Article continues below

When is the Euro 2024 Qualification draw?


October 9, 2022


11am BST / 6am ET


Festhalle Exhibition Centre, Frankfurt

The Euro 2024 Qualification draw will take place on Sunday, October 9, 2022.

It will be held in Frankfurt, Germany at the Festhalle Exhibition Center and the event will begin at 11am BST (6am ET).

Where to watch the Euro 2024 on TV and live stream online

The Euro 2024 Qualification draw will be live streamed on the UEFA website and the official Youtube channel.

Which teams are involved in the Euro 2024 qualifying draw?

A total of 53 UEFA member associations will enter the qualifying process and take part in the draw.

Hosts Germany have already for the final tournament, while Russia have been suspended from Euro 2024 qualifying following the military invasion of Ukraine, UEFA has confirmed.

Seeding pots for the Euro 2024 qualifying draw




Netherlands, Croatia, Spain, Italy

Pot 1

Denmark, Portugal, Belgium, Hungary, Switzerland, Poland

Pot 2

France, Austria, Czech Republic, England, Wales, Israel, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Serbia, Scotland, Finland

Pot 3

Ukraine, Iceland, Norway, Slovenia, Republic of Ireland, Albania, Montenegro, Romania, Sweden, Armenia

Pot 4

Georgia, Greece, Turkey, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, Azerbaijan, Kosovo, Bulgaria, Faroe Islands, North Macedonia

Pot 5

Slovakia, Northern Ireland, Cyprus, Belarus, Lithuania, Gibraltar, Estonia, Latvia, Moldova, Malta

Pot 6

Andorra, San Marino, Liechtenstein

Teams are divided into seven seeding pots for the purposes of the draw. These comprise the UNL Pot, which includes the four UEFA Nations League finalists and pots numbered one to six.

The UNL Pot contains Netherlands, Croatia, Spain and Italy, with Pot One populated by Denmark, Portugal, Belgium, Hungary, Switzerland and Poland.

England are in Pot Two along with reigning World Cup champions France, as well as fellow home nations Wales and Scotland. You can see the full seeding pots in the table above.

What is the Euro 2024 qualifying draw procedure?

The 53 participating national teams will be seeded into six pots based on the 2022–23 UEFA Nations League overall ranking of the league phase. 

The four teams who have qualified for the final phase of the Nations League will be placed into the UNL pot and will be drawn across Groups A-D, which will each have five teams. They will be required to play only eight qualifying matches, instead of 10, so that they have two free matchdays to play in Nations League Finals in June 2023. 

The next six-highest ranked teams will find themselves in Pot 1. Pot 2 to 5 will have 10 teams each, based on their rankings, while Pot 6 will be comprised of the three lowest-ranked teams.

Subsequently, the teams will be drawn into 10 groups, with Group A-G having five teams and H-J being made of six teams.

What restrictions will be applied during the draw?

UEFA has imposed three restrictions which will bind the draw. Those are as follows:

  • Prohibited clashes: For political reasons, matches between following pairs of teams are considered prohibited clashes, unable to be drawn into the same group: Armenia / Azerbaijan, Belarus / Ukraine, Gibraltar / Spain, Kosovo / Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo / Serbia.
  • Winter venues: A maximum of two teams whose venues were identified as having high or medium risk of severe winter conditions can be placed in each group: Belarus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, and Norway.
  • Excessive travel: A maximum of one pair of teams identified with excessive travel distance in relation to other countries can be placed in each group:

a) Azerbaijan: with Gibraltar, Iceland, and Portugal.

b) Iceland: with Armenia, Cyprus, Georgia, Israel.

c) Kazakhstan: with Andorra, England, Faroe Islands, France, Gibraltar, Iceland, Malta, Northern Ireland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Scotland, Spain, and Wales.

When does Euro 2024 qualification start?



Matchday One

March 23-25, 2023

Matchday Two

March 26-28, 2023

Matchday Three

June 16-17, 2023

Matchday Four

June 19-21, 2023

Matchday Five

September 7-9, 2023

Matchday Six

September 10-12, 2023

Matchday Seven

October 12-14, 2023

Matchday Eight

October 15-17, 2023

Matchday Nine

November 16-18, 2023

Matchday Ten

November 19-21, 2023

Euro 2024 qualification begins in March 2023 and runs across 10 matchdays before concluding in November 2023.

The top two teams out of each of the 10 groups advance to the European Championship finals, with the remaining three places decided via the play-off, for which teams qualify through the Nations League.