News Live Scores
European Championship

Euro 2020 draw: England to face Czech Republic, Germany draw Netherlands

12:07 GMT 02/12/2018
Gareth Southgate England 2018-19
Gareth Southgate's side have learned their opponents for qualification, while Northern Ireland have been handed a tough-looking pool

England have been drawn to face the Czech Republic in Group A as the qualifying groups for Euro 2020 were decided on Sunday in Dublin.

Gareth Southgate's men, who enjoyed a successful 2018 in which they reached the World Cup semi-finals and finished top of their UEFA Nations League group, have also been tasked with matches against Bulgaria, Montenegro and Kosovo.

Historically, the Three Lions have an excellent record against these opponents, having gone undefeated against Czech Republic, Bulgaria and Montenegro previously while this will mark their first meeting with Kosovo.

Their last experience of tackling Bulgaria came during their successful Euro 2012 qualifying campaign, during which they recorded two victories over a side then coached by Lothar Matthaus.

Group C promises to be a blockbuster affair, with Germany drawn against the Netherlands in a repeat of their Nations League pool, in which Oranje beat the 2010 World Cup winners and reigning world champions France into first place.

Northern Ireland find themselves in that pool along with Estonia and Belarus.

As for Wales, they will tackle World Cup runners-up Croatia, Slovakia, Hungary and Azerbaijan in Group E.

Alex McLeish's Scotland side face a difficult proposition to qualify, with Belgium, Russia, Cyprus, Kazakhstan and San Marino alongside them in Group I.

Defending champions Portugal, meanwhile, are in Group B, where the second-seeded side is Ukraine. Serbia, Lithuania and Luxembourg will also provide tests for Cristiano Ronaldo & Co.

France, 2018 World Cup winners, have been put in a group with Iceland, Turkey, Albania, Moldova and Andorra.

The top two sides from each of the 10 qualifying groups will automatically be involved in the 24-team finals, which will take place across the continent in 18 months time.

Meanwhile, the final four slots for the competition will be decided by the winners of the four UEFA Nations League play-offs, which will take place in March 2020.

Euro 2020 qualification groups in full

Group A Group B Group C Group D
England Portugal Netherlands Switzerland
Czech Republic Ukraine Germany Denmark
Bulgaria Serbia Northern Ireland Republic of Ireland
Montenegro Lithuania Estonia Georgia
Kosovo Luxembourg Belarus Gibraltar
Group E Group F Group G Group H
Croatia Spain Poland France
Wales Sweden Austria Iceland
Slovakia Norway Israel Turkey
Hungary Romania Slovenia Albania
Azerbaijan Faroe Islands Macedonia Moldova
- Malta Latvia Andorra
Group I Group J
Belgium Italy
Russia Bosnia & Herzegovina
Scotland Finland
Cyprus Greece
Kazakhstan Armenia
San Marino Liechtenstein