Yashin Trophy 2023 nominees GFXGOAL

Yashin Trophy 2023: Nominees revealed for Ballon d'Or's best goalkeeper award

Only one goalkeeper has ever won the Ballon d'Or: Lev Yashin, in 1963. So, in a bid to ensure more shot-stoppers were recognised at their annual ceremonies in Paris, France Football introduced the Yashin Trophy in 2019 to recognise the best goalkeeper from the previous season.

Voted for by past Ballon d'Or winners, previous recipients of the award include Alisson Becker, Gianluigi Donnarumma and Thibaut Courtois, and it is sure to be hotly-contested in 2023.

We will have to wait until the Ballon d'Or ceremony on Monday, October 30 to find out the winner, but for now, here is the shortlist of nominees:

Article continues below