News Live Scores
Premier League

Premier League title races that have been decided on the last day

4:23 AM SGT 11/5/19
Pep Guardiola Jurgen Klopp Premier League 2018-19
Goal rounds up the seven Premier League title races that were decided on the final day, from Kenny Dalglish's win with Rovers to 'Aguero!'

The 2018-19 Premier League is hurtling to another season's end, though we won't know who will be crowned champions until the final whistle is blown until full-time for Manchester City and Liverpool on Sunday.

This season has seen the two frontrunners run riot in the English top-flight, setting a 20-point gap between themselves and third and fourth place. City and Liverpool have been battling it out neck and neck for Premier League glory in one of the most thrilling and dramatic title races in history.

Liverpool could finish the season on an incredible 97 points but that still wouldn't be enough to clinch the Premier League title from City, should they win their final game against Brighton and be crowned English champions on 98 points.

Goal takes a look at seven historic Premier League title races that were decided on the final day.

  • Crystal Palace Liverpool 2013-14 Premier League


    Liverpool lost the 2014 league title by two agonising points to City, during a campaign more remembered for their incredible capitulation than last-day drama.

    The Reds were in prime position to win their first ever Premier League title until they suffered a 2-0 defeat by way of an unfortunate slip by Steven Gerrard against Chelsea in April. Liverpool then had the chance to finish the season joint-top with the Sky Blues – until they squandered a 3-0 lead at Crystal Palace to settle for a draw at Selhurst Park in the infamous ‘Crystanbul’.

    Their only hope was for City to lose to Brighton in their final game, but that didn’t happen, and they lost the league by a hair’s breadth.

  • Sergio Aguero Manchester City 2012


    The beauty and unpredictability of football means that not even an Oscar-winning script could ever come close to matching what happens on the pitch.

    Manchester rivals City and United were level on points heading into the final day of the season, but the Sky Blues knew a win over Queens Park Rangers would secure them the title on goal difference.

    It seemed an easy enough task, but City found themselves trailing to 10-man QPR 2-1 in the second half. It was all about to end in devastation and tears for City until Edin Dzeko scored the equaliser at the death, followed by Sergio Aguero netting a stoppage-time goal to clinch the title from right under their red neighbours’ noses.

    The “Agueroooooooo!” moment will live on forever.

  • Chelsea Premier League 2009-10


    Chelsea won the Premier League title by a single point over runners-up Man Utd with a final day 8-0 victory over Wigan.

    Fate was always in the Blues’ hands, and though there was no dramatic Aguero moment, the Londoners’ victory meant that United were deprived of a fourth straight league win.

    2009-10 also saw Chelsea score 103 goals, a Premier League record at the time.

  • Manchester United 2007-08 Premier League


    United lost the most games out of a Premier League top four that involved Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool, but it was ultimately them who were crowned English champions in 2008.

    Arsenal were favourites to win the league until their capitulation in spring where they lost to both United and Chelsea in just four weeks.

    And so, Chelsea and United were left to battle for Premier League glory – but Sir Alex Ferguson’s side kept their cool and won both their remaining games to finish ahead of the Blues by two points on the final day.

  • Manchester United 1998-99 Premier League


    United’s heroic treble-winning season is as memorable as the circumstances in which they clinched the league on the final day of the 1998-99 season by one point.

    Fergie’s side were competing with Arsenal for the Premiership for the majority of the season. The Gunners looked set to be crowned English champions when United fell 1-0 to London rivals Tottenham on the final day.

    The Red Devils, however, staged an incredible comeback as they scored twice just before and after half-time to secure the league.

  • Kevin Keegan Terry McDermott Newcastle 1996


    Kevin Keegan’s words came back to haunt him in the most devastating fashion after Newcastle capitulated spectacularly in the Premier League, blowing a 12-point lead at one stage.

    His statement of “I would love to beat them” returned to bite him on the final day, when the Magpies were two points behind United. They needed the Mancunians to repeat the previous campaign’s final day heartbreak, but there was no fairy-tale ending for Keegan’s men.

    Ferguson’s side ended up winning 3-0 against Middlesbrough to claim their third Premier League victory.

  • Kenny Dalglish Blackburn Rovers Premier League 1994-95


    What a season it was for Kenny Dalglish, who led Blackburn to Premier League glory over former rival Man Utd by a point.

    The ex-Liverpool player and coach secured the championship on the final day of the season despite losing to his former club 2-1 at Anfield.

    Rovers fans thought all was lost until news filtered through of United’s 1-1 stalemate against West Ham. Goalkeeper Ludek Miklosko giving a display of the century as he denied the Red Devils every chance to score a winner, sending Rovers fans into celebration bedlam.