- Rashford thought he'd scored United's third
- VAR spotted a handball in the build-up
- United settle for 2-1 win
WHAT HAPPENED? Rashford rounded Jordan Pickford and believed he had scored, but VAR spotted that he had accidentally handled the ball in build-up and therefore ruled out the strike. United still managed to secure all three points as goals from Cristiano Ronaldo and Antony gave them a 2-1 win at Goodison Park.
WHY WASN'T IT GIVEN? The current rules for a handball in the Premier League dictate that a goal must be ruled out if the ball makes contact with the scorer's hand or arm, even if the movement is accidental. Ironically, if Rashford have set up Bruno Fernandes to tap into the net instead, the goal would have stood, as players are allowed to pass to team-mates to score after accidentally handling the ball.
STORY IN A PHOTOGetty
Rashford himself expressed his frustration on social media, while others compared the incident to one that saw Gabriel escape punishment for a handball during Arsenal's win over Liverpool...