News Live Scores

Indian Football: Bengaluru FC honoured with special AFC award

1:14 PM SGT 6/6/17
Bengaluru FC SOuth Zone CHampions
The JSW-owned outfit’s efforts were appreciated by the governing body for football in Asia…

Asian Football Confederation’s (AFC) general secretary Dato Windsor handed a special award for Bengaluru FC for being the South Zonal Champions in the AFC Cup 2016-17 season.

Mandar Tamhane, the Chief Technical Officer (CTO) of Bengaluru FC, was in attendance at the AFC Workshop for clubs who have made it into the knockout stages of the Asian Champions League (ACL) and AFC Cup respectively.

Dato Windsor - Indian clubs need to evolve with time

Every team who have successfully made it past the group stages were handed an award by Windsor.

From the ACL clubs, representatives from Al Ahli, Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia), Al Ain (UAE), Persepolis (Iran), Kawasaki Frontale, Urawa Red Diamonds (Japan), Guangzhou  Evergrande and Shanghai SIPG (China), were handed the memento.

The AFC Cup West Zone finalists, namely Air Force Club (Iraq) and Al Wahda (Syria), alongside ASEAN Zone finalists, Ceres Negros (Philippines) and Home United (Singapore) were also present at the workshop.

FC Istikhol (Tajiskistan) and 4.25 SC (DPR Korea) were also honoured with the special award having won the Central Asia and East Asia zones in the AFC Cup.