News Live Scores
United States

Klinsmann, Carter-Vickers headline U.S. U-20 World Cup roster

20:19 GMT+3 09/05/2017
Jonathan Klinsmann United States U19 100615
The goalkeeper and Tottenham defender are among 21 players called in by Tab Ramos to compete at the tournament in Korea Republic later this month

U.S. Under-20 head coach Tab Ramos on Tuesday named a 21-player roster for the 2017 U-20 World Cup in Korea Republic.

Jonathan Klinsmann, Michael Carter-Vickers and Gedion Zelalem are among the players chosen to represent the U.S.  in the tournament, which runs from May 20 to June 11.

MLS Wrap: Winter signings keep shining

"We are very excited to once again provide a great competitive opportunity to our players and are looking forward to heading to Korea Republic," Ramos said in a press release. "As always there were some extremely tough decisions to make. This is a talented age group."

Part of the team will depart for training camp in Japan on May 10, while the remaining players will join the group prior to the USA's  arrival in Korea Republic on May 17.

The U.S. was drawn into Group F with Ecuador, Senegal and Saudi Arabia. They will open group play against Ecuador on May 22, followed by Senegal on May 25 and Saudi Arabia on May 28.

The U-20s capped their qualifying run at the 2017 CONCACAF U-20 Championship with five straight wins. 

Fifteen of the 21 players selected for the World Cup were part of the team that qualified for the competition and won the 2017 CONCACAF U-20 Championship in March.

GOALKEEPERS (3): Jonathan Klinsmann (University of California; Newport Beach, Calif.), J.T. Marcinkowski (Georgetown; Alamo, Calif.), Brady Scott (De Anza Force; Petaluma, Calif.)

DEFENDERS (7): Danny Acosta (Real Salt Lake; Salt Lake City, Utah), Cameron Carter-Vickers (Tottenham Hotspur FC; Westcliff-on-Sea, England), Marlon Fossey (Fulham FC; Surbiton, England), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake; Tucson, Ariz.), Aaron Herrera (University of New Mexico; Las Cruces, N.M.), Erik Palmer-Brown (Sporting Kansas City; Lee's Summit, Mo.), Tommy Redding (Orlando City SC; Oviedo, Fla.)

MIDFIELDERS (5): Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls; Wappingers Falls, N.Y.), Luca De La Torre (Fulham FC; San Diego, Calif.), Derrick Jones (Philadelphia Union; Philadelphia, Pa.), Eryk Williamson (University of Maryland; Alexandria, Va.), Gedion Zelalem (Arsenal FC; Bethesda, Md.)

FORWARDS (6): Jeremy Ebobisse (Portland Timbers; Bethesda, Md.), Lagos Kunga (Atlanta United FC Academy; Tucker, Ga.) Brooks Lennon (Real Salt Lake; Paradise Valley, Ariz.), Emmanuel Sabbi (Unattached; Columbus, Ohio), Josh Sargent (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri; O'Fallen, Mo.), Sebastian Saucedo (Real Salt Lake; Park City, Utah)