Juventus 2017-18Tiziana Fabi

Juventus win seventh consecutive Serie A title

Juventus have been crowned Serie A champions for a seventh consecutive season after drawing 0-0 with Roma on Sunday. 

Massimo Allegri’s side went into the penultimate game of the Italian top-flight season six points ahead of second placed Napoli, meaning they needed only a draw to secure the Scudetto. 

Though Napoli did secure a 2-0 win at Sampdoria, Juve's scoreless draw at the Stadio Olimpico was enough to seal the title. 

Article continues below

The Bianconeri completed an unprecedented fourth successive domestic double, having beaten AC Milan 4-0 in the Coppa Italia final just four days ago, with a drab stalemate in the capital in which Radja Nainggolan was sent off after two yellow cards in quick succession.

Napoli's 1-0 victory at Juve on April 22 put them one point behind the defending champions with four fixtures remaining, but Maurizio Sarri's side lost to Fiorentina and drew with Torino in a pair of fatal blows.

And the Partenopei's challenge for a first Scudetto since Diego Maradona's 1989-90 vintage is over for another season, despite Sunday's away win at Sampdoria.

Juve's domestic dominance began under Antonio Conte, who won the league for three successive seasons before his departure in 2014.

Allegri has now surpassed his predecessor with a fourth championship in a row, with his exploits in Turin leading to him being linked with a switch to Arsenal as a replacement for Arsene Wenger.