Garnacho penGetty/beIN Sports

Tottenham get away with one! Why VAR denied Man Utd and Alejandro Garnacho seemingly clear penalty for handball by Spurs' Cristian Romero - explained

  • Shot hit Romero's arm
  • VAR reviews but no penalty awarded
  • Arm deemed in natural position

WHAT HAPPENED? Referee Michael Oliver chose to award United a corner on the field after the incident in the 26th minute. And while VAR reviewed the decision, play continued without the award of a penalty.

WHY WASN'T IT GIVEN? While the case for a spot-kick seemed fairly obvious, it was likely adjudged that Romero wasn't in an unnatural position, and his proximity to Garnacho's strike convinced Oliver not to award a penalty. VAR saw no compelling evidence to overturn the on-field decision.


Article continues below

THE BIGGER PICTURE: How VAR is used has been been a contentious issue since its introduction in the Premier League. Referees chief Howard Webb was forced to issue an apology to Wolves on Monday night after VAR failed to award them a clear late penalty against United at Old Trafford.

WHAT'S NEXT FOR SPURS AND UNITED: The two sides took a breath after a frenetic first half that somehow finished goalless despite an extraordinary miss from United skipper Bruno Fernandes.