News Live Scores

Pineda, Duenas lead inexperienced Mexico Gold Cup squad

00:46 GMT+3 12/06/2017
Orbelin Pineda Mexico Luis Ovalle Panama friendly 10112016
With the top team in the Confederations Cup, many players will look to win their first caps and help El Tri repeat as continental champion

An inexperienced side will look to defend Mexico's Gold Cup crown, with Juan Carlos Osorio naming a 25-man squad Sunday.

Arena and Osorio renew old rivalry

With the top players from El Tri fighting for the Confederations Cup in June, many players named to the team will be looking to win their first Mexico caps. Goalkeeper Miguel Fraga, defender Carlos Vargas, midfielders Javier Salas, Jesus Isijara and Walter Sandoval, and forward Martin Barragan will seek their first caps, while Luis Rodriguez, Jair Pereira and Angel Sepulveda will each hope to build on one existing appearance.

There is some experience in the team, with Chivas midfielder Orbelin Pineda (listed as a forward on the official roster) and Tigres midfielder Jesus Duenas on the team after narrowly missing out on an invitation to the Confederations Cup. And Fraga will have plenty of experience to lean on with fellow goalkeepers Moises Munoz and Jesus Corona having more than 50 caps between them.

Mexico's Gold Cup begins July 9 against El Salvador and continues with group matches against Jamaica and Curacao before the knockout stage begins.

Osorio will have to trim his squad to 23 players for the group stage, though Gold Cup rules allow him to replace up to four players for the knockout round.

Here is the full roster:

Goalkeepers: Moises Munoz (Puebla), Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul), Miguel Fraga (Atlas)

Defenders: Raul Lopez (Pachuca), Luis Rodriguez (Tigres), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres), Jesus Molina (Monterrey), Carlos Vargas (America), Hedgardo Marin (Chivas), Hugo Ayala (Tigres), Cesar Montes (Monterrey), Jair Pereira (Chivas)

Midfielders: Jesus Gallardo (Pumas), Jorge Hernandez (Pachuca), Jesus Duenas (Tigres), Rodolfo Pizarro (Chivas), Javier Salas (Atlas), Jesus Isijara (Necaxa), Walter Sandoval (Santos)

Forwards: Orbelin Pineda (Chivas), Erick Gutierrez (Pachuca), Elias Hernandez (Leon), Martin Barragan (Necaxa), Alan Pulido (Chivas), Angel Sepulveda (Morelia)