- Newcastle claim Trevoh Chalobah handled ball
- But Chalobah's arm considered in natural position
- Newcastle went on to win 1-0
WHAT HAPPENED? Ina first half devoid of clear-cut opportunities, Newcastle appeared to be in with a chance of opening the scoring from the penalty spot. As Chalobah slid to block a cross from Dan Burn on the left flank, the ball appeared to collide with the Chelsea defender's arm, not his body.
WHY WASN'T IT GIVEN? Despite vigorous appeals from the Newcastle players, referee Jones refused to blow his whistle for the penalty. The on-field official deemed that, despite the contact, the player's arm was in a natural position as he entered as slide, and wasn't in any way a deliberate obstruction to the ball's direction.
STORY IN TWO PHOTOS:
Getty Images
Getty ImagesTHE VERDICT:
While Newcastle fans naturally felt aggrieved...
TwitterOthers were less certain:
TwitterAn explanation of the rule as to why the decision wasn't given:
WHAT'S NEXT FOR NEWCASTLE: A much-needed rest during the World Cup break awaits the team.


