Sunil Chhetri awarded FPAI Indian player of the year

AIFF Media
Albert Roca, Jerry Mawihmingthanga, Miku and Subhash Singh were among the other winners.

The Football Players Association of India (FPAI) handed out the Indian Football Awards 2018 at Kolkata today. The winners were decided in five categories namely: Young Player of the year, Indian Player of the year, Foreign Player of the year, Coach of the year and Fans Player of the coach. The players were shortlisted according to the number of votes they received from players in the I-League and Indian Super League (ISL). The voting for fans’ choice award was conducted online. The categories and nominees are as follows:

Young Player of the year: Jerry Mawihmingthanga, Udanta Singh, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Anirudh Thapa, Lallianzuala Chhangte

WINNER: Jerry Mawihmingthanga

Indian Player of the year: Sunil Chhetri, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Balwant Singh, Michael Soosairaj, Adil Khan

WINNER: Sunil Chhetri

Foreign Player of the year: Miku, Ferran Corominas, Chencho Gyeltshen, Marcelinho, Manuel Lanzarote

Article continues below


Sunil Chhetri FPAI

Coach of the year: Albert Roca, Steve Coppell, Gift Raikhan, Sergio Lobera, Khogen Singh

WINNER: Albert Roca

Fans Player of the year: Subhash Singh, Ubaid CK, Rahul Bheke, Michael Soosairaj, Mandar Rao Desai

WINNER: Subhash Singh

In addition to this, special awards were given out to Sunil Chhetri for his 100 international appearances, to Bengaluru FC for their success in Asia and in India over the last few years, and to Minerva Punjab for their I-League championship and youth development policy.

Next article:
Messi absence no excuse for Barcelona loss, says Suarez
Next article:
Real Madrid regain place as highest-earning club in world football
Next article:
Sevilla star Ben Yedder dedicates goal to Sala in defeat of Barcelona
Next article:
'He must not come and cry after' – Goncalves unapologetic over Neymar injury
Next article:
Chelsea set to lose out on Paredes as PSG table €45m offer