News Live Scores

Milos Ninkovic wins 2016-17 Johnny Warren Medal

2:19 PM GMT+4 01/05/2017
Milos Ninkovic Sydney FC A-League 01052017
The Sky Blues' playmaker was the clear favourite leading into Monday night's ceremony and was duly crowned the A-League's Player of the Year

Sydney FC midfielder Milos Ninkovic has won the 2016-17 Johnny Warren Medal, dominating the A-League Player of the Year voting.

In his second A-League season, Ninkovic - who was the clear favourite - polled 44 votes, winning by seven from last season's winner Diego Castro of Perth Glory.

It was a season for the import playmakers, with Western Sydney Wanderers' Nico Martinez finishing third with 29 votes.

Ninkovic notched nine goals and 10 assists in the regular season, steering the Sky Blues to the Premier's Plate, while the 32-year-old also teed up a goal in Sydney's 3-0 win over Glory last week to qualify for the grand final.

The Serb became the first player in Sydney FC's history to win the Johnny Warren Medal.

Perth and Matildas striker Sam Kerr won the Julie Dolan Medal as the W-League's player of the year with 23 votes, two ahead of Brisbane Roar midfielder Katrina Gorry.

Adelaide United's Sofia Huerta finished third on 17 votes.

Kerr scored 10 goals in 16 matches as Glory reached the W-League grand final only to lose to Melbourne City.

Unsurprisingly, runaway A-League premiers Sydney dominated the men's awards with Graham Arnold being crowned Coach of the Year and Danny Vukovic winning the Goalkeeper of the Year gong.


Johnny Warren Medallist: Milos Ninkovic (Sydney FC)

Julie Dolan Medallist: Sam Kerr (Perth Glory)

A-League Young Footballer of the Year: Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar)

W-League Young Footballer of the Year: Remy Siemsen (Sydney FC)

A-League Golden Boot: Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar) & Besart Berisha (Melbourne Victory)

W-League Golden Boot: Ashleigh Sykes (Canberra United)

A-League Coach of the Year: Graham Arnold (Sydney FC)

W-League Coach of the Year: Bobby Despotovski (Perth Glory)

A-League Goalkeeper of the Year: Danny Vukovic (Sydney FC)

W-League Goalkeeper of the Year: Lydia Williams (Melbourne City)

A-League Goal of the Year: Tim Cahill (Melbourne City)

W-League Goal of the Year: Sam Kerr (Perth>