News Live Scores
Africa Cup of Nations

Afcon Stat Pack: All you need to know about Ivory Coast v Togo

3:17 PM GMT+4 16/01/2017
Yaya Toure Ivory Coast
All the stats and numbers you need as Cote d'Ivoire prepares to take on Togo in Oyem

Our good friends at Opta have complied all the numbers and stats you need to assess the teams’ chances ahead of today’s Afcon Group C clash at the Stade d'Oyem in Woleu-Ntem. 

-Ivory Coast are the defending champions, having won the Afcon in 2015; it was their second title after 1992. The last team to win back-to-back titles were Egypt (3 in a row from 2006 to 2010).

-This is Ivory Coast’s 22nd Afcon participation, a tally only bettered by Egypt (23).

-Ivory Coast have lost only one of their last 16 games at the African Cup of Nations (W10 D5), it came against eventual winners Nigeria in their 2013 quarter-final.

-The last time Ivory Coast lost their first game at an Afcon was in 1996 (0-2 v Ghana). Since then, they have won five and drawn four of their openers.

-Meanwhile, this will be Togo’s eighth Afcon. They have only reached the knockout stages once in their previous seven participations, it was in 2013 when they went out in the quarter-finals.

-Togo have lost six of their last eight games at the Afcon (W1 D1). They have also never won their opening game in the tournament (D3 L4).

-The Ivory Coast are unbeaten against Togo at the African Cup of Nations (W2 D2). In fact, Togo haven’t beaten the Elephants in any competition since December 1987 (1-0).

-Wilfried Bony scored two goals and delivered three assists in six games at the 2015 Afcon, the joint-highest goal involvement alongside André Ayew.

-This is Michel Dussuyer’s fifth Afcon tournament as manager. The Ivory Coast boss has never progressed further than the quarter-finals (2004 and 2015, both with Guinea).

-Meanwhile, Togo manager Claude Le Roy is taking charge at his ninth Afcon tournament, with a sixth different nation (Cameroon, Senegal, DR Congo, Ghana, Congo, Togo). He’s made it to the knockout stages in seven of his eight previous tournaments, winning it in 1988 with Cameroon.