News Matches

When is England's Euro 2020 squad announced?

11:05 BST 01/06/2021
Raheem Sterling Gareth Southgate Jack Grealish England 2020
Here's everything you need to know as Gareth Southgate prepares to confirm his 26-man Three Lions selection for the Euros this summer

Gareth Southgate will name his 26-man England squad for the European Championship on Tuesday as he prepares to cut seven players from his provisional selection.

UEFA has confirmed that squad lists have been expanded to allow 26 players to be selected, with a number of major nations having already named their squads.

So, who will make the cut and who will be axed? Goal takes a look at the options.

When will England's Euro 2020 squad be announced?

Southgate originally named a provisional 33-man Euro 2020 squad on Tuesday May 25, and will confirm his 26-man selection on June 1, at 5pm (BST).

The deadline for all 24 teams to name their final squads is 11pm (BST) on June 1, 10 days prior to the start of the tournament.

Usually, the limit for a squad at the European Championship is 23 players, but UEFA expanded the number of squad players 23 to 26 amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Who will be included in Southgate's squad?

Southgate faces a selection headache as he prepares to name his squad, with a huge talent pool available to the Three Lions boss.

Jordan Pickford is likely start as the Three Lions' No.1 goalkeeper, with Dean Henderson as back-up. Nick Pope didn't make the provisional squad due to injury, with Aaron Ramsdale or Sam Johnstone set to be the third-choice keeper.

Harry Maguire should be included despite injury concerns - with the Manchester United centre-back having missed the latter part of the 2020-21 season - and the likes of Kyle Walker, John Stones, Tyrone MingsLuke Shaw, Reece James, Kieran Trippier and Ben Chilwell should also be in.

There are, however, question marks over Trent Alexander-Arnold's selection, with ESPN having reported that the Liverpool right-back will not be included in the final 26.

Jordan Henderson has been out of action for an extended period, and hasn't played for Liverpool since February, but he, along with the likes of Declan Rice and Champions League winner Mason Mount, should be picked.

Harry Kane, meanwhile, will lead the attack for England at the Euros, with the likes of Raheem Sterling, Phil Foden, Jadon Sancho, Marcus Rashford and Dominic Calvert-Lewin all set to be included in the squad.

There was injury heartbreak for Mason Greenwood, however, following confirmation on Tuesday morning that the Manchester United forward would not be fit enough to feature at Euro 2020 due to injury.

Jack Grealish is also likely to be in despite only returning to Aston Villa's starting XI for the final two games of the season due to injury, while Kalvin Phillips will be hoping to be involved having become a regular for Southgate in Henderson's absence.

Dortmund youngster Jude Bellingham will also be hoping to force his way in, as will Wolves centre-back Conor Coady. Jesse Lingard is another who was included in the provisional squad and could get the nod, although the Athletic reports that he, and James Ward-Prowse are due to miss out.

Southgate's options: England's 33-man provisional squad

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Sam Johnstone (West Brom), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Sheffield United)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolves), Ben Godfrey (Everton), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Brighton)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (West Ham, on loan from Manchester United), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds), Declan Rice (West Ham), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)

Forwards: Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)

Further reading