Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Golden ShoeGetty/Goal composite

What is the European Golden Shoe? Winners, scoring & guide to top scorer award

Each season, the race for the Golden Shoe is often hotly contested with the best goalscorers across the continent vying for the accolade.

Tallies of upwards of 30 goals are usually required in order to win the trophy, but the likes of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have taken things to another level in recent years.

If you are wondering how it works, GOAL takes a look at the European Golden Shoe, its history, the players that have won it, how it is awarded and more.

Article continues below


  1. What is the Golden Shoe?
  2. How are Golden Shoe points scored?
  3. Golden Shoe winners
  4. Who has won the most Golden Shoe awards?
  5. Golden Shoe trophy

What is the Golden Shoe?

The European Golden Shoe (sometimes referred to as the European Golden Boot) is an award that is given to the player who finishes the season as the leading league scorer across all of Europe's top divisions.

First introduced for the 1967-68 season by French football magazine L'Equipe - who called the award the Soulier d'Or, which translates to 'Golden Shoe' - it is presented on an annual basis.

While conceived by L'Equipe, the responsibility for awarding the Golden Shoe has been the remit of European Sports Media (ESM) - an association of football-themed publications including Marca, La Gazzetta dello Sport and kicker among others - since the 1996-97 season.

Return to top

How are Golden Shoe points scored?

Since ESM took over the running of the Golden Shoe award in 1996-97, a points system based on league strength has been utilised in order to determine the top scorer.

UEFA's coefficient is the yardstick for points weighting and the idea behind it is to reward players who score goals in leagues that are considered to be of a higher standard - thus more difficult to score in.

Goals scored in the continent's top five leagues being multiplied by a factor of two, those scored in the leagues six to 21 are multiplied by a factor of 1.5 and the remaining leagues by a factor of one.

The top five European leagues are: La Liga, the Premier League, Serie A, the Bundesliga and Ligue 1.

Return to top

Golden Shoe winners

Lionel Messi Luis Suarez Golden ShoeGetty

You can see a list of Golden Shoe winners since the 1996-97 season, when ESM took over the running of the award, in the table below.

Golden Shoe winners since 1996-97

*Click on the season







Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)



2019-20Ciro Immobile (Lazio)3672
2018-19Lionel Messi (Barcelona)3672
2017-18Lionel Messi (Barcelona)3468
2016-17Lionel Messi (Barcelona)3774
2015-16Luis Suarez (Barcelona)4080
2014-15Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)4896
2013-14Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) & Luis Suarez (Liverpool)3162
2012-13Lionel Messi (Barcelona)4692
2011-12Lionel Messi (Barcelona)50100
2010-11Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)4080
2009-10Lionel Messi (Barcelona)3468
2008-09Diego Forlan (Atletico Madrid)4264
2007-08Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)3162
2006-07Francesco Totti (Roma)2652
2005-06Luca Toni (Fiorentina)3162
2004-05Diego Forlan (Villarreal) & Thierry Henry (Arsenal)2550
2003-04Thierry Henry (Arsenal)3060
2002-03Roy Makaay (Deportivo La Coruna)2958
2001-02Mario Jardel (Sporting)4284
2000-01Henrik Larsson (Celtic)3552.5
1999-00Kevin Phillips (Sunderland)3060
1998-99Mario Jardel (Porto)3672
1997-98Nikos Machlas (Vitesse Arnhem)3468
1996-97Ronaldo (Barcelona)3468

As well as the above winners, players to have scooped the accolade prior to 1996-97 include Eusebio, Gerd Muller, Hugo Sanchez, Marco van Basten, Ian Rush and Hristo Stoichkov.

Notably, the award was not given out between 1991-92 and 1995-96, following a dispute with the Cyprus Football Association in 1990-91 over who the rightful winner was. Red Star Belgrade's Darko Pancev, who scored 34 goals that season, was later presented with the Golden Shoe in 2006.

You can see the full list of winners from 1967-68 on the ESM website.

Return to top

Who has won the most Golden Shoe awards?

Lionel Messi Golden ShoeGetty

It will come as little surprise to most football fans that Lionel Messi has won the most Golden Shoe awards. The Barcelona icon, who is now on the books at Paris Saint-Germain, has secured the prize on six occasions (2009-10, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2016-17, 2017-18, 2018-19).

No prizes for guessing that Messi's perennial rival Cristiano Ronaldo follows the Argentina international with four Golden Shoes, which were won across his time with Real Madrid (2010-11, 2013-14, 2014-15) and Manchester United (2007-08).

After Messi and Ronaldo, no player comes close, with only a handful managing to clinch the trophy more than once. Thierry Henry, Luis Suarez, Diego Forlan, Eusebio and Gerd Muller all won it twice, as did Mario Jardel, Fernando Gomes and Dudu Georgescu. Former Rangers striker Ally McCoist finished as Europe's top scorer in 1991-92 and 1992-93, but did so during a time when the award was not deemed official.

Return to top

Golden Shoe trophy

Cristiano Ronaldo Golden ShoeGetty

The trophy for the Golden Shoe is, unsurprisingly, a golden shoe or, more accurately, a golden football boot on a stone base.

Designs have changed over the years but the current trophy appears to have been based on the famous Adidas Predator style of boots, specifically the Predator Precision edition.

Return to top