Man Utd hit 48-year low as Guardiola makes history with Manchester derby victory

Paul Pogba Manchester United 2018-19
Getty Images
The Red Devils could not cope with the visitors on Wednesday as their poor defensive run continued

Manchester United's awful defensive run continued against Manchester City on Wednesday, while Pep Guardiola made history in his side's derby win. 

City defeated United 2-0 at Old Trafford as second-half goals from Bernardo Silva and Leroy Sane made the difference. 

The win allowed City to leapfrog Liverpool back into first place in the Premier League, and they will guarantee a second straight title with wins in their final three games of the season. 

City boss Guardiola also made some personal history with the victory, as the Spaniard is now the first manager to win three consecutive away Premier League matches at Old Trafford against United.

Only Arsene Wenger and Gerard Houllier join Guardiola as managers to win three total away matches at Old Trafford. 

The win also meant City have now won seven Premier League games against United at Old Trafford – more than any other team.

City reached a team milestone during the game as well, setting a new Premier League goalscoring record across all competitions.

For United, it was another poor result in a season that is rapidly unraveling after a mid-season renaissance under Ole Gunnar Solskjaer. 

Following his December appointment in place of Jose Mourinho, Solskjaer guided his side to a run of 14 wins in 17 games overall. 

But Man Utd have now followed that run with a stretch of seven defeats in nine matches. 

Article continues below

The club have also failed to keep a clean sheet in 12 straight games in all competitions – the first time since August 1971 that United have endured such a run. 

United remain in sixth place, three points behind fourth-placed Chelsea in the race for the fourth and final Champions League spot ahead of their meeting with the Blues on Sunday.

City, meanwhile, face Burnley, Leicester City and Brighton in their final three Premier League matches.