Bhaichung BhutiaEast Bengal

Hat-tricks scored in the National Football League (NFL)

First time a top division league was introduced in India was in 1996 when the National Football League (NFL) was established. Before that it used to a series of prestigious tournaments like the IFA Shield, Durand Cup, Federation Cup and the Santosh Trophy. But there was no unified domestic league.

The NFL was a significant development in Indian football and the league witnessed a lot of great strikers over time.

Yusif Yakubu has the most number of hat-tricks to his name in the National Football League (NFL) era. On all five occasions he scored a hat-trick, he was wearing a Churchill Brothers jersey. 

Only Ranti Martins has scored a hat-trick and still ended up on the losing side. A total of 35 hat-tricks were scored in the NFL era.  Goal  takes a look at all those occassions. 


Two hat-tricks were scored in this season and both of them were netted by Bhaichung Bhutia. He found the net five times against Mahindra and even finished the league as the top-scorer with 14 goals. 

Player Name For Against Result
Bhaichung Bhutia 5 JCTMahindra United6-1
Bhaichung BhutiaJCTDempo4-1


On two occasions, hat-tricks were scored in this season as well. Mohun Bagan's Chima Okorie and Goutam Ghosh for Dempo SC were the scorers. 

Player Name For Against Result
Goutam GhoshDempoFC Kochin5-3
Chima OkorieMohun BaganMahindra United3-0


Manjit Singh of Mahindra United scored the only hat-trick of this season. 

Player Name For Against Result
Manjit SinghMahindra UnitedIndian Telephone Industries (ITI)6-0


Churchill Brother's Francis Silveira and East Bengal's Ossius Luiz Ferreira were the hat-trick scorers of this season. In fact, Silveira scored a poker against Dempo to rout them 5-0. 

Player Name For Against Result
Francis Silveira 4 Churchill BrothersDempo SC5-0
Ossius Luiz FerreiraEast Bengal
State Bank of Travancore


Mohun Bagan's RC Prakash and Air India's Bungo Singh netted a hat-trick each in this season. Singh scored four against State Bank of Travancore. 

Player Name For Against Result
RC PrakashMohun BaganAir India0-3
Bungo Singh 4 Air India
State Bank of Travancore


Four hat-tricks were scored in this season and Golden Boot winner Yusif Yakubu scored three goals in a match on two occassions. Mike Okoro and Akeem Alem were the two other players. 

Player Name For  Against Result
Yusif Yakubu Churchill BrothersTollygunge Agragami0-4
Mike OkoroIndian Telephone IndustriesPunjab Police3-0
Akeem AlemTollygunge AgragamiHindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL)3-2
Yusif YakubuChurchill BrothersMahindra United2-3


In this campaign, a record ten hat-tricks were scored. Nine players took the match ball at the final whistle with Mohun Bagan's George Ekeh and  doing it twice. 

Player Name For Against Match Result
George EkehMohun BaganJCT3-3
George EkehMohun BaganHAL1-3
Dudu Omagbemi SalgaocarIndian Bank2-4
Kasun Nadika JayasuriyaIndian BankEast Bengal3-3
Alvito D'CunhaEast BengalHAL3-5
Mike OkoroEast BengalHAL4-1
Yusif YakubuChurchill Brothers Indian Bank5-0
Kasun Nadika JayasuriyaIndian BankITI6-1
Agnelo Jose Gomes  4 VascoHAL8-0 
Rui Wanderley WeisVascoITI5-0


Five players scored three goals in a match this season. 

Player Name For Against Match result
Ashim BiswasMohun BaganIndian Bank 3-0
Yusif YakubuChurchill BrothersIndian Bank 4-1
Felix AboagyeMahindra UnitedMohammedan Sporting Club1-5
Dudu Omagbemi Sporting Clube de GoaIndian Bank 4-1
Marcos Pereira Vasco SCMohun Bagan5-1


Four different players scored a hat-trick in this season. Yusif Yakubu had netted thrice in a match for the fourth consecutive season. 

Player name For Against Match result
Dudu OmagbemiSporting Clube de GoaFransa FC1-4
Ranti MartinsDempo SCEast Bengal3-2
Yusif YakubuChurchill BrothersSporting Clube de Goa1-3
Sunil ChhetriMohun BaganTollygunge Agragami4-0


Ranti Martins and Bhaichung Bhutia scored hat-tricks in this campaign for Dempo and East Bengal respectively. But Martins' three goals came for a losing cause. 

Player Name For Against Match Result
Ranti MartinsDempo SCMahindra United3-4
Bhaichung BhutiaEast BengalSporting Clube de Goa4-3


For the first time since the 1998-99 season, a single hat-trick was scored. 

Player Name For Against Match result
Odafa Onyeka Okolie 4 Churchill BrothersMd Sporting1-4