News Live Scores

Iker Casillas wins the 2017 Golden Foot award

08:24 GMT 08/11/2017
The legendary Spain international goalkeeper has become the 15th winner of the prize and has left his mark in Monaco as a result

Porto goalkeeper Iker Casillas has been presented with the 2017 Golden Foot award at a ceremony at the Hotel de Paris in Monaco.

The award, which is designed to recognise the long-standing achievements of players in terms of both their skills and personality, has been presented since 2003, when Roberto Baggio, then of Brescia, picked up the prize. 

Winners, who must be at least 28 and still playing, have the honour of leaving a permanent footprint - or in Casillas' case handprint - on Monaco’s ‘Champions Promenade’ along the seafront. 

Reacting to his win, which came about after he was voted for by fans after being placed on a shortlist by journalists, Casillas tweeted: “Very happy with the #GoldenFoot2017. Thank you for all the support.”

The 36-year-old beat off competition from nine other players, including Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Luis Suarez to claim the award.

He has a lengthy list of honours to his name after a glorious playing career that has seen him win three Champions Leagues, five Spanish league titles, as well as the World Cup and two European Championships with Spain.

While Casillas received recognition off the field this week, on it he faces a battle to regain his starting berth with Porto after head coach Sergio Conceicao admitted that he had been dropped due to his poor attitude in training. 


Year Player Club
2003 Roberto Baggio Brescia
2004 Pavel Nedved Juventus
2005 Andriy Shevchenko Milan
2006 Ronaldo Real Madrid
2007 Alessandro Del Piero Juventus
2008 Roberto Carlos Fenerbahce
2009 Ronaldinho Milan
2010 Francesco Totti Roma
2011 Ryan Giggs Manchester United
2012 Zlatan Ibrahimovic PSG
2013 Didier Drogba Galatasaray
2014 Andres Iniesta Barcelona
2015 Samuel Eto'o Antalyaspor
2016 Gianluigi Buffon Juventus
2017 Iker Casillas Porto