News Live Scores
UEFA Champions League

Champions League 2017-18: Qualifying rounds & teams explained

20:16 BST 12/06/2017
Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid Atletico
With domestic campaigns in 2016-17 drawing to a close, more and more teams are booking their place in various stages of next season's competition

With the 2016-17 season nearly complete across Europe, only a few clubs are still fighting to book their place in next season's Champions League.

The route to next season's final in Kiev will be much longer for some clubs than others, with the first qualifying round kicking off as early as June - a full two-and-a-half months before the group stage begins in September.

Barca target Verratti demands PSG exit

The draw for the first and second qualifying rounds will be made on June 19. In each qualifying round and the play-off round, teams are divided into seeded and unseeded groups based on their UEFA club coefficient, a kind of rating of their past performances.

Seeded and unseeded teams are then drawn against each other in two-legged, home-and-away ties to advance to the next round leading into the group stage. Here is your complete guide to the teams that have qualified for each stage thus far.


The champions of Europe's smallest 10 leagues play in the first qualifying round, with the five winners progressing to the second qualifying round.

The draw for this round and the second qualifying round will be made on June 19, with the first legs being played on June 27 and 28 and the second legs following on July 4 and 5.

Team Country Club coefficient
The New Saints Wales 5.775
Linfield Northern Ireland 3.650
Vikingur Gota Faroe Islands 2.950
Hibernians Malta 2.800
FC Santa Coloma Andorra 2.733
Alashkert Armenia 2.525
La Fiorita San Marino 1.566
Europa FC Gibraltar 1.500
FCI Tallinn Estonia 1.300
Trepca'89 Kosovo 0.000


Twenty-nine more teams - again, all champions of their respective leagues - enter in the second qualifying round. The five teams progressing from the first qualifying round make for 34 teams in total and 17 ties.

The draw for this round will be made at the same time as the first qualifying round, on June 19, with the teams progressing from the previous round to be confirmed once those ties have been played. The first legs will be played on July 11 and 12 and the second legs on July 18 and 19.

Team Country Club coefficient
Celtic Scotland 42.785
Red Bull Salzburg Austria 40.570
Copenhagen Denmark 37.800
Ludogorets Bulgaria 34.175
BATE Borisov Belarus 29.475
Legia Warsaw Poland 28.450
APOEL Cyprus 26.210
Maribor Slovenia 21.125
Qarabag Azerbaijan 18.050
Malmo Sweden 16.945
Astana Kazakhstan 16.800
Partizan Serbia 16.075
Rijeka Croatia 15.550
Rosenborg Norway 12.665
Sheriff Tiraspol Moldova 11.150
Hapoel Be'er Sheva Israel 10.875
FH Iceland 6.175
Zilina Slovakia 5.850
Zalgiris Vilnius Lithuania 5.825
Dundalk Ireland 5.815
Vardar Macedonia 5.125
F91 Dudelange Luxembourg 4.975
Kukesi Albania 4.550
Zrinjski Mostar Bosnia & Herzegovina 4.050
Buducnost Podgorica Montenegro 3.300
Honved Hungary 2.900
IFK Mariehamn Finland 2.030
Spartaks Jurmala Latvia 1.975
Samtredia Georgia 1.525


The third qualifying round is split into two sections: the champions route and the league route. The draw for both sections will be made on July 14, with the first legs taking place on July 25 and 26 and the second legs following on August 1 and 2.

In the champions route, three more league champions (from Greece, the Czech Republic and Romania for 2017-18) join the 17 winners in the second qualifying round, making a total of 20 teams and 10 ties.

Team Country Club coefficient
Olympiacos Greece 64.580
Slavia Prague Czech Republic 8.135
Viitorul Constanta Romania 5.870

In the league route, 10 teams that are not domestic champions but have finished in Champions League qualifying positions in their respective leagues face each other in five ties.

Team Country Club coefficient
Dynamo Kiev Ukraine 67.526
Ajax Netherlands 67.212
Viktoria Plzen Czech Republic 40.635
CSKA Moscow Russia 39.606
Club Brugge Belgium 39.480
Steaua Bucharest Romania 35.370
Young Boys Switzerland 28.915
Nice France 16.833
Istanbul Basaksehir Turkey 10.340
AEK Athens Greece 6.580


The play-off round, the final round before the group stage, is also split into the champions route and the league route. The draw for both sections will be made on August 4, with the first legs taking place on August 15 and 16 and the second legs following on August 22 and 23.

There are no new teams added to the champions route; the 10 winners from that section in the third qualifying round are drawn against each other in another five ties, with the five winners advancing to the group stage.

Ronaldo names his Portugal heir

Five more teams are added to the league route, and join the five teams that progressed from that section in the third qualifying round. They play across 10 ties, and like the champions route the five winners advance to the group stage.

Team Country Club coefficient
Sevilla Spain 112.999
Napoli Italy 88.666
Liverpool England 56.192
Sporting CP Portugal 36.866
Hoffenheim Germany 15.899


The group stage is made up of five teams from the champions route, five teams from the league route and 22 new teams that enter the competition at this stage. The draw will be made on August 24 in Monaco, with the first matches taking place on September 12 and 13.

The draw is seeded via four pots of eight teams each. Pot 1 includes the Champions League holders and league winners of the top seven countries according to UEFA's coefficients. As next season's holders (Real Madrid or Juventus) will also be a top-seven league winner, a Pot 1 place is passed on to the eighth-ranked country, Ukraine.

Pots 2, 3 and 4 are decided based on the ranking of teams by their club coefficients.

So far, 22 teams have booked their place in the group stage, with the full lineup of direct qualification spots below. Teams to have confirmed their place in a particular pot are marked with the number of that pot - for example, (2) indicates Pot 2.

Team Country Club coefficient
Real Madrid (1) Spain 176.999
Bayern Munich (1) Germany 154.899
Barcelona (2) Spain 151.999
Atletico Madrid (2) Spain 142.999
Juventus (1) Italy 140.666
Paris Saint-Germain (2) France 126.333
Borussia Dortmund (2) Germany 124.899
Benfica (1) Portugal 111.866
Chelsea (1) England 106.192
Manchester City (2) England 100.192
Porto (2) Portugal 98.866
Manchester United (2) England* 95.192
Shakhtar Donetsk (1) Ukraine 87.526
Tottenham England 77.192
Basel (3) Switzerland 74.415
Monaco (1) France 62.333
Anderlecht (3) Belgium 58.480
Roma Italy 53.666
Besiktas Turkey 45.840
Feyenoord Netherlands 23.212
Spartak Moscow (1) Russia 18.606
RB Leipzig Germany 15.899

*Manchester United qualified for the Champions League group stage as winners of the Europa League. England will therefore have five Champions League entrants next season, with four already confirmed in the group stage.