Gernot Rohr, Ahmed Musa - Nigeria

Full house as Musa and Onuachu arrive at Super Eagles camp

Al Nassr’s Ahmed Musa and Genk’s Paul Onuachu have arrived in Nigeria’s camp ahead of this week’s international friendlies against Algeria and Tunisia.

The duo are the last of the players to arrive at the team’s base in Austria as Gernot Rohr now has his players available for training.

Onuachu was handed a late call-up after Victor Osimhen of Napoli was excused from the Desert Foxes and Carthage Eagles’ games because of travel restrictions caused by the coronavirus pandemic.

Article continues below

After seven seasons at FC Midtjylland, the gangling striker joined the Belgian elite division outfit in 2019. This season, he has been impressive for Jess Thorup’s men having scored seven goals in seven games in the 2020-21 campaign.

For Musa, who naturally takes over the mantle of leadership from John Obi Mikel, he is expected to add attacking bite to the squad in the games that will serve as build-up for November’s double-header Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Sierra Leone.

This term, he is yet to feature for Rui Vitoria's Najd’s Knight as speculation about him leaving the King Fahd Stadium, Riyadh became intense.

Four days after taking on the reigning African champions, Rohr’s team will face the Carthage Eagles at Jacques Lehmans Arena.

Since defeating Lesotho 4-2 in an Africa Cup of Nations qualifier at Maseru's Setsoto Stadium on November 17, 2019, Nigeria are yet to play a match in 2020 owing to the Covid-19 outbreak.


Goalkeepers: Dele Alampasu (FK Ventspils, Latvia); Matthew Yakubu (SKF Sered, Slovakia); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, Netherlands); Frank Onyeka (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Samson Tijani (TSV Hartberg, Austria)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Paul Onuachu (Genk, Belgium); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Cyriel Dessers (KRC Genk, Belgium); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)