MTN8 fixture: Kaizer Chiefs face Free State Stars, Orlando Pirates take on Golden Arrows

Sundowns, Pirates, Chiefs and Maritzburg United will all be at home for the quarter-finals of the 2018/19 MTN8 competition

As the Premier Soccer League season came to an end on Saturday, the eight teams that will take part in next season's MTN8 were also confirmed. 

The MTN8 Cup is the richest cup competition in South Africa as the winner walks away with a whopping R8 million. 

With last year’s champions SuperSport United have failed to qualify for this year's edition for the first time in over a decade, this means the competition will have new champions for 2018.

Orlando Pirates are back in the competition after missing out last year, and they will face Golden Arrows in the quarter-finals. 

The only time Golden Arrows won the MTN8 was back in 2009 when they wallopped Ajax Cape Town 6-0 at the Orlando Stadium. 

Despite their dominance in the league over the past few years, Mamelodi Sundowns have not been as fortunate in the MTN8 title as they last won the trophy in 2007. They reached the final in 2016, but lost to eventual champions Bidvest Wits. 

Kaizer Chiefs may also be looking to bring back the good old days by attempting to win their 16th MTN8 title, but they will first have to get past Free State Stars. 

While others teams will be wanting to win the MTN8 trophy again, Free State Stars and Cape Town City FC will be hoping to lift the trophy for the first time.

The PSL will confirm the dates, kick-off times and venues of each match after the official launch of the competition in the next few months. 

MTN8 fixture in full: 

Mamelodi Sundowns vs AmaZulu FC

Article continues below

Orlando Pirates vs Golden Arrows

Kaizer Chiefs vs Free State Stars

Maritzburg United vs Cape Town City FC

Next article:
Bournemouth confirm signing of Brentford's Chris Mepham
Next article:
Howard announces retirement after 2019 season
Next article:
'You say all signings are controversial' – Valverde defends Boateng's arrival at Barcelona
Next article:
Asian Cup 2019: Fixtures, results, standings, tickets & complete guide to January tournament
Next article:
Demba Ba returns to Istanbul Basaksehir on loan