Ace Ncobo and Danny Jordaan in Safa presidential election race

Comments (0)
Peter Mancer with Ace Ncobo
Jordaan has been Safa's president since 2013, and he appears likely to remain in the job after receiving a whopping 52 nominations

The South African Football Association (Safa) has announced that Dr Danny Jordaan will go head-to-head with former PSL referee Ace Ncobo in the upcoming presidential election. 

According to Safa, a total of 53 nomations were submitted as of February 23, with Jordaan receiving 52 to Ncobo's one. 

The nominations have been forwarded to all Safa members and the process to determine the eligibility of the two nominees.

Below is the official statement released by the country's FA:

Two presidential nominations were received by close of business on 23 February 2018 as SAFA prepares for the 24 March 2018 Elective Congress to elect new office bearers.

According to KPMG Auditors who received the nominations, a total of 53 nominations were submitted with incumbent SAFA President, Dr Danny Jordaan receiving 52 nominations while former referee, Ace Ncobo received 1 nomination.

The nominations have been forwarded to all SAFA members and going forward, the electoral process will now be exclusively in the hands of the Electoral Committee, in this case, the Independent Electoral Commission.

The IEC will scrutinise the candidates as mandated by the SAFA Electoral Code to determine compliance in accordance with Article 25 of the SAFA Statutes.

Safa CEO Dennis Mumble said the association will inform all its members of the IEC's decisions once the eligibility process is finalized.  

Article continues below

“We shall thereafter inform all members of the IEC’s decisions following their background and eligibility checks as required by the SAFA Statutes and SAFA Electoral Code,” Mumble said in the statement.

There were more than just two candidates who initially expressed the desire to run for the presidential election, including former Bafana Bafana coach Shakes Mashaba and Tokyo Sexwale among others. 

However, they have since pulled out of the race, leaving Jordaan and Ncobo as the only two candidates ahead of the election on March 24, 2018.