Premier League top scorers 2017-18: Aguero closes on Kane & Salah

ShareClose Comments
Who will finish the season as the top goalscorer in the English top flight? Goal brings you the latest in the race for the Golden Boot

The race for the 2017-18 Premier League Golden Boot is well and truly on, with Harry Kane and Mohamed Salah continuing to lead the way.

Kane was the clear winner of last season's crown, bagging 29 goals in 30 appearances for Tottenham, while Romelu Lukaku followed with 25 in 37 games for Everton.

New faces such as Chelsea forward Alvaro Morata and Liverpool winger Salah have been added into the mix this season, meaning that the competition is certainly greater.

Goal brings you the latest Premier League top scorer ranking.


Harry Kane celebrates Tottenham Southampton Premier League

Kane surged into the lead in the final week of 2017 after bagging back-to-back hat-tricks against Burnley and Southampton, which saw him break the Premier League scoring record for a calendar year.

The England star pulled further ahead of the chasing pack with a double in the 4-0 win over Everton, to take his tally up to 98 Premier League goals and make him Spurs' all-time top scorer in the Premier League.

Salah is not too far behind the Spurs star and the Egypt international is showing little sign of slowing down, scoring an opportunistic goal from range in Liverpool's 4-3 win over Manchester City.

Manchester City's Argentine star Aguero has now closed to within four efforts of Kane with a hat-trick against Newcastle, with Etihad Stadium team-mate Raheem Sterling two further back.

Lukaku has taken his haul for United to 11, while Roberto Firmino, Morata, Wayne Rooney and Jamie Vardy are the only other players to have reached double figures.

*Correct as of 19:30 GMT on January 20, 2018

Pos Player Club Goals
1 Harry Kane Tottenham Hotspur 20
2 Mohamed Salah Liverpool 18
3 Sergio Aguero Manchester City 16
4 Raheem Sterling Manchester City 14
5 Romelu Lukaku Manchester United 11
=6 Roberto Firmino Liverpool 10
=6 Alvaro Morata Chelsea 10
=6 Wayne Rooney Everton 10
=6 Jamie Vardy Leicester City 10
=10 Alexandre Lacazette Arsenal 9
=10 Anthony Martial Manchester United 9
=12 Gabriel Jesus Manchester City 8
=12 Son Heung-min Tottenham Hotspur 8
=12 Eden Hazard Chelsea 8
=12 Riyad Mahrez Leicester City 8
=16 Alexis Sanchez Arsenal 7
=16 Jesse Lingard Manchester United 7
=16 Abdoulaye Doucoure Watford 7
=16 Leroy Sane Manchester City 7
=21 Charlie Austin Southampton 6
=21 Kevin De Bruyne Manchester City 6
=21 Glenn Murray Brighton and Hove Albion 6
=21 Shinji Okazaki Leicester City 6
=21 Marko Arnautovic West Ham United 6
=21 Sadio Mane Liverpool 6
=21 Oumar Niasse Everton 6
=21 Christian Eriksen Tottenham Hotspur 6
=21 Callum Wilson Bournemouth 6
=21 Marcos Alonso Chelsea 6


Harry Kane Tottenham

Article continues below

Harry Kane scored a remarkable 29 goals in the Premier League last season to earn the Golden Boot.

Romelu Lukaku was his closest rival, with 25 in his last campaign for Everton, while Alexis Sanchez netted 24 and Sergio Aguero and Diego Costa both finished on 20.

Dele Alli, Eden Hazard, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Joshua King also exceeded 15 goals for the season.

Next article:
Alexis in & Martial flying - Rashford risks becoming Man Utd's odd man out
Next article:
Southampton vs Tottenham: TV channel, stream, kick-off time, odds & match preview
Next article:
Aguero shines after Alexis snub to prove Man City are still the team to beat
Next article:
Tottenham team news: Injuries, suspensions and line-up vs Southampton
Next article:
Barcelona Team News: Injuries, suspensions and line-up vs Betis