Teams Split From USL-1; To Form New League In 2010

Seven teams from the United States and Canada set to leave USL-1 for newly-created league.
Formerly of USL-1, the Atlanta Silverbacks, Carolina Railhawks, Miami FC, Minnesota Thunder, Montreal Impact and Vancouver Whitecaps, along with St. Louis Soccer United have joined forces to create a new soccer league set to begin play in 2010.

“This is not your typical new league,” Joey Saputo, the President of the Montreal Impact and recently-appointed league chairman said.  “Most of our teams have existed for years.  We have united some of the best owners, teams and markets around a new vision for a professional soccer league in North America. We look forward to elevating our teams and league in order to give more opportunities to players, coaches, media and sponsors, entertain our fans and play our role in helping soccer truly recognize its potential in the United States and Canada.”

The owners submitted an application for sanctioning of the new league as a Division II Men’s Outdoor Professional League by the United States Soccer Federation.

Jeff Cooper, the principal owner of the St. Louis club stated the league is finalizing plans for a commissioner and that the name and marketing plan for league will be released shortly.

The USL will continue in 2010 with up to 11 teams actively participating in the coming season’s play.

Shane Evans,

Talk all things soccer with the rest of our readers in the Forums!