Yanga SC down archrivals Simba SC to win Mapinduzi Cup

Comments (0)
Yanga SC.
Yanga SC.
Timu ya Wananchi emerged champions as they outwitted their Kariakoo opponents from the shoot-out after a stalemate in 90 minutes

Young Africans (Yanga SC) lifted the Mapinduzi Cup after beating archrivals Simba SC 4-3 at Amaan Stadium in Zanzibar on Wednesday.

After a 0-0 draw at full-time, the cup champions had to be settled from the spot. Francis Kahata, Chris Mugalu, and Gadiel Michael scored for Simba as Meddie Kagere was denied by the woodwork while Joash Onyango’s effort was saved by Farouk Shikhalo.

Yanga scored their penalties via Tuisila Kisinda, Shaibu Abdalla, Zawadi Mauya and Saido Ntibazonkiza while Mukoko Tonombe was denied by Beno Kakolanya.

Hassan Dilunga’s effort in the sixth minute hit the woodwork as Farouk Shikhalo stretched but could not reach the ball. Simba won a free-kick at the right-wing position, David Kameta delivered and Yanga’s clearance landed on Dilunga’s path whose final shot could not bring about any impact.

Yanga almost opened the scoring in the ninth minute when Ntibazonkiza and Haruna Niyonzima worked their way into the Simba penalty box but a quick interception by Gadiel saved the day for the Msimbazi club which was outfoxed by Yanga’s speedy attack.

Timu ya Wananchi would have broken the deadlock in the 25th minute when Kennedy Juma failed to clear a free-kick as his feeble header was taken by Sarpong but Beno Kakolanya got off his line and collected the ball before the Ghanaian could head home.

The second half began on a balanced note as none of the sides created a meaningful chance to open the scoring in the first 15 minutes.

In the 78th minute, Kahata was on his way towards goal after he had been put through by Mugalu but a raised offside flag abruptly ended his journey.

The introduction of Ibrahim Ajibu and Mugalu slightly tilted the dominance of the game in favour of Wekundu wa Msimbazi in the last 20 minutes.

In the 83rd and 84th minutes Onyango, who had a good game and was named the man of the match, made two critical clearances to deny Kisinda and Waziri Junior open chances to break the deadlock.

Yanga faced their Kariakoo rivals without nine players including winger Carlos Carlinhos, Balama Mapinduzi, Lamine Moro, Yassin Mustapha, Deus Kaseke, Ditram Nchimbi, Feisal Salum, and Farid Mussa.

On the other hand, midfielder Clatous Chama, Luis Miquissone, Larry Bwalya, Jonas Mkude, Pascal Wawa, Charles Ilanfya, Aishi Manula, John Bocco, Erasto Nyoni, Shomari Kapombe, and Said Ndemla were missing for Simba.

Yanga SC XI: Farouk Shikhalo, Adeyum Saleh, Abdallah Shaibu, Saidi Juma, Mukoko Tonombe, Tuisila Kisinda, Zawadi Mauya, Michael Sarpong, Saidi Ntibazonkiza, Haruna Niyonzima,

Article continues below

Subs: Ramadhan Kabwili, Metacha Mnata, Paul Godfrey, Abdulkarim Yunus, Arafat Hussein, Waziri Junior, Omar Chibada.

Simba SC XI: Beno Kakolanya, David Kameta, Gadiel Michael, Kennedy Juma, Joash Onayngo, Taddeo Lwanga, Hassan Dilunga, Mzamiru Yassin, Meddie Kagere, Francis Kahata, Miraji Athumani,

Subs: Ally Salim, Ibrahim Ajibu, Chris Mugalu, Bernard Morrison, Ian Nyoni, Kelvin Moyo, Bernard Agele.