Gerard Pique can consider himself a very lucky man indeed after staying on the pitch despite a two-footed horror tackle against Morocco.
And perhaps his frustrations got the better of him early on as he crunched Khalid Boutaib with a full-blooded challenge.
Boutaib luckily avoided injury after the hit, and indeed went on to open the scoring for his nation before Isco pulled Spain back into the proceedings.
Pique, meanwhile, did not even receive a yellow card for his tackle - provoking that all-too familiar refrain this World Cup: where was the VAR?
Is VAR not looking at that Pique challenge? Red card, surely?— Daniel Storey (@danielstorey85) 25 de junio de 2018
That is a poor way for Pique to go into a challenge. What’s he at?— Miguel Delaney (@MiguelDelaney) 25 de junio de 2018
Given that the ref didn’t give a foul for that tackle by Pique, can he still be punished retrospectively?— Tim Stillman (@Stillberto) 25 de junio de 2018
That has to be a red card on Piqué. Off the ground, studs up.— Jonas Giæver (@CheGiaevara) 25 de junio de 2018
How Pique got away with that. Amazing. Two footed, studs showing. Fair to say standard of refereeing has been mixed at the #WorldCup— tariq panja (@tariqpanja) 25 de junio de 2018