Ulinzi Stars 0-1 AFC Leopards: Matano 'ghosts' haunt the soldiers

Goal Kenya.
The win took pressure off the back of Ingwe, who have been battling relegation fears for the better part of 2017 KPL season

Whyvonne Isuzza scored the lone goal to hand AFC Leopards a vital win against Ulinzi Stars at Afraha Stadium on Tuesday.

The all-important win that propelled Robert Matano men to 10th on the log on 36 points, is a morale booster to Ingwe, who will next take on Kariobangi Sharks in GOtv Shield final on Friday.

The win took pressure off the backs of AFC Leopards, who have been battling relegation fears for the better part of the second leg following a string of poor performances.

Ulinzi Stars were without the prolific striker Stephen Waruru, who did not make it to the match-day squad, adding to fears that there may be some bad blood between the Golden Boot candidate and his bosses.

But despite the poor run of form and internal fights in the dressing room, Ingwe showed no mercy to the wounded soldiers, who are yet to win a single match in the last five fixtures.

Isuzza struck home the lone goal of the day when he easily connected Majjid Musa’s cross in the 63rd minute to hand Matano a sweet return to Afrah Stadium, where he was the boss of the struggling soldiers until early 2016.

Coach Benjamin Nyangweso was also missing the services of Oliver Rutto, Geoffrey Kokoyo and Sammy Onyango, who were serving suspensions.

Ulinzi Stars remained fourth on 42 points even as they wait to face their toughest assignment so far with a home match against leaders, Gor Mahia next weekend.

Ulinzi Stars starting XI: Timothy Odhiambo, Brian Birgen, Rodgers Omondi, Benson Sande, Omar Mbong’i, Bernard Ongoma, Cliff Kasuti, John Kago, Mark Birokwa, Churchill Muloma and Daniel Waweru.

Article continues below

Subs: Finius Odhiambo, Frederick Chitai, Hamisi Abdalla, Ibrahim Shambi, Elvis Nandwa, Enosh Ochieng’ and Michael Otieno.

AFC Leopards XI: Gabriel Andika, Lewis Wanami, Dennis Sikayi, Salim Abdalla, Duncan Otieno (c), Victor Majid, Musa Mudde, Whyvonne Isuzza, Aziz Okaka, Vincent Oburu and Marcellus Ingotsi.

Subs: Ian Otieno, Michael Kibwage, Ramadhan Yakub, Haroun Nyakha, Samuel Ndung'u, Alexis Kitenge and Andrew Tololwa. 

Next article:
Batshuayi in Brussels as Monaco move remains held up
Next article:
Maurizio Sarri: I am not scared of straight-talking or player power at Chelsea
Next article:
David Luiz: Chelsea's dressing room remains behind Maurizio Sarri following his reaction to Arsenal defeat
Next article:
Bittersweet night for Dembele as oft-criticized star thrills in Barca win over Leganes
Next article:
Barcelona 3 Leganes 1: Messi and Suarez combine to spare Barca's blushes