News Live Scores
UEFA Nations League

UEFA Nations League draw: England get Spain, Germany face France

12:09 GMT 24/01/2018
Harry Kane England
Gareth Southgate's side have been given a tough test, but they have avoided the Group of Death

England will meet Croatia, who famously denied them a place at Euro 2008 with a 3-2 win at Wembley in November 2007, and Julen Lopetegui's Spain in the inaugural UEFA Nations League.

France, Netherlands and Germany, meanwhile, have been drawn in a daunting group.

Didier Deschamps' side have been drawn alongside Netherlands in Group 1 of League A, the two teams having faced off in World Cup qualifying, as well as the reigning world champions.

Italy face Poland and European champions Portugal in Group 3, while Belgium meet Switzerland and Iceland in Group 2.

League B will see the Republic of Ireland meet Wales, now coached by Ryan Giggs, and Denmark, who beat the Irish in the play-off for the 2018 World Cup finals.

Russia, the hosts of this year's finals, will take on Sweden and Turkey, while Austria face Bosnia-Herzegovina and Northern Ireland. Slovakia, Ukraine and the Czech Republic are in Group 1.

Scotland will take on Albania and Israel in the three-team Group 1 of League C, while Group 4 will see Serbia take on Montenegro.

UEFA's bold new competition aims to replace a large portion of friendlies with more competitive fixtures against similarly ranked teams.

The system will also offer an alternative route into the European Championship, beginning with Euro 2020.

Teams who finish top of their groups in League A will compete at the Nations League finals next year, while countries can also be promoted and relegated depending on the final standings.

The matches begin in September 2018.

England have been drawn with Spain and Croatia in the inaugural UEFA Nations League.

UEFA Nations League draw

League A

Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4
Netherlands Iceland Poland Croatia
France Switzerland Italy England
Germany Belgium Portugal Spain

League B

Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4
Czech Republic Estonia Northern Ireland Denmark
Ukraine Sweden Bosnia and Herzegovina Republic of Ireland
Slovakia Russia Austria Wales

League C

Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4
Israel Estonia Cyprus Lithuania
Albania Finland Bulgaria Montenegro
Scotland Greece Norway Serbia
- Hungary Slovenia Romania

League D

Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4
Andorra San Marino Kosovo Gibraltar
Kazakhstan Moldova Malta Liechtenstein
Latvia Luxembourg Faroe Islands Armenia
Georgia Belarus Azerbaijan Macedonia