News Live Scores

Socceroos squad: Asian Cup hero James Troisi among four axed from Australia's final World Cup list

00:53 BST 03/06/2018
James Troisi Australia Asian Cup
A Melbourne Victory star was the surprise omission, while a young A-League prodigy will get the opportunity to show his talents

Asian Cup winning hero James Troisi heads a list of four players chopped as Bert van Marwijk's final Australian 23-man World Cup squad included Melbourne City prodigy Daniel Arzani.

Croatian-born defender Fran Karacic, utility Josh Brillante and attacker Nikita Rukavytsya were also omitted from the Socceroos training group, with surprise call-up Jamie Maclaren securing a seat on the plane to Russia in the wake of Tomi Juric's fitness woes.

Troisi, who scored the extra time winning goal against South Korea in the 2015 Asian Cup final, didn't get any game time during the 4-0 win against Czech Republic on Saturday, along with Karacic, Brillante and Rukavytsya.

Arzani will be the youngest Australian to travel to a World Cup, while Tim Cahill and Mark Milligan are each preparing for their fourth consecutive tournament.

"I have been very pleased with the effort and application of all of the players during our time in Turkey, and in Austria," van Marwijk said.

"Every step of the selection process has been difficult because the players have all given everything to make the final selection."

"However considering many factors, we have now settled on our final squad for Russia. I believe this group of players can do Australia proud at the world’s biggest football tournament if we continue to work collectively and intensively over the next two weeks and into the competition."

Australia will take on Hungary in Budapest on June 9 in a final friendly before embarking on their World Cup campaign against group C opponents France, Denmark and Peru.

Socceroos final 23 man World Cup squad

Goalkeepers: Mat Ryan (Brighton), Brad Jones (Feyenoord), Danny Vukovic (Genk)

Defenders: Trent Sainsbury (Grasshoppers), Matthew Jurman (Suwon), Milos Degenek (Yokohama Marinos), Joshua Risdon (Western Sydney Wanderers), Aziz Behich (Bursaspor), James Meredith (Millwall)

Midfielders: Mile Jedinak (Aston Villa), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield), Tom Rogic (Celtic), Massimo Luongo (QPR), Jackson Irvine (Hull City), Dimi Petratos (Newcastle Jets), Mark Milligan (Al Ahli).

Attackers: Tim Cahill (Millwall), Tomi Juric (FC Luzern), Mathew Leckie (Hertha Berlin), Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City), Andrew Nabbout (Urawa Red Diamonds), Robbie Kruse (Bochum), Jamie Maclaren (Hibernian).